Food Hacks: Garlic Butter Spread

Food Hacks: Garlic Butter Spread. Small Town Girl Blog

Ever wonder why the store bought garlic bread always tastes so good? Ever wonder what kind of fairy dust they sprinkle in that spread that makes it pop with flavor? If you’ve ever tried to make it at home, you know it’s not just butter and garlic. There is a zing, a little something extra. What is it?? I’ve got a clue but I don’t think you’ll like it…. you wanna know? Are you sure?? If I tell you, will you promise not to write it off until you at least try it once? Ok Ok here it is, brace yourself…..

It’s mayonnaise

Yes, I said it. And you scoffed didn’t you? I know I did the first time I heard this. And yes, it’s safe to eat after it’s been cooked. I know some people get a little iffy about warmed up Mayo but it’s fine and it’s delicious!

Now I’m not saying mine is exactly like the garlic butter spread at the store…. it’s better. Real garlic and parmesan cheese sends this over the top! I think it’s pretty darn epic and I bet you will too. Just get over your mayo stigma and try it ok?

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 loaf of french or sourdough
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup mayo (I use light but regular is fine too)
  • 4 garlic cloves, pressed
  • 1 tsp italian herb blend
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 2 tsp grated parmesan cheese

Instructions

Spread over french bread

Broil on low open faced for about 5 minutes or until bread begins to brown.

Food Hacks: Garlic Butter Spread. Small Town Girl Blog

19 thoughts on “Food Hacks: Garlic Butter Spread

  1. Aha!!! I’ve been plagued by that before… why my homemade garlic bread wasn’t as good as store-bought… thank you so much for the secret!! Can’t wait to give this a try, very soon 😀 Thanks for sharing this with us at Friday Favorites!!

  2. Oh, I’m going to love this recipe. I would NEVER have guessed mayo! I’m trying this tonight!!

  3. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Garlic bread is a big deal in our home. Always love fresh garlic bread. 🙂 Thanks for linking up to Friday Favorites. Don’t forget to link up what you’ve been up to this week.

  4. Alnd… this is the reason I do not buy store bought garlic bread, the thought of mayo sitting out all day! I make a similar version at home but use plain Greek yogurt and feta cheese, and its awesome! Thanks for linking up this week at Merry Monday’s!

  5. Wow! That looks incredible. I’m so impressed. Pinned and tweeted. We appreciate you stopping by to party with us. We hope to see you, Monday at 7 pm. Happy Sunday! Lou Lou Girls

  6. Pingback: Totally Talented Tuesdays #98 | Mandy's Recipe Box

Leave a comment