Small Town Girl’s Favorite Finds: It’s Tomato Time!!!

Welcome back to another fabulous edition of Small Town Girl’s Favorite Finds. Tomatoes are finally in season and turning up in droves at my local produce market. I’m so happy! There is nothing I love more than fresh tomatoes!! So in honor of this coveted time of year, it only made sense to dedicate a favorite find to some delicious recipe ideas for my favorite vegetable…. fruit…. both! I hope you enjoy. Also check out the Pinterest board for more of my favorite finds!

First up: Panzanella Caprese with Garlicky Croutons from The Kitchen Sanctuary. A traditional Tuscan salad of bread and tomatoes. Nicky uses garlic bread for the croutons and the dressing is rendered from the tomatoes themselves! Genius! This sounds divine on a hot day! Click on the pick to go to the link!

Panzanella-Caprese-with-garlic-croutons-tall

Rustic Tomato Zucchini Tart from Walking on Sunshine. I’m going to try making a single serving of this for lunch soon since it’s just me most days. But Wow! What a delicious way to use up all those tomatoes and fresh zucchini, am I right?? Click on the pic to go to the link!

Rustic Tomato Zucchini Tart Promo Walking on Sunshine Recipes

Heirloom Tomato, Avocado and Burrata Salad on Grilled Garlic Toast from How Sweet It Is. I made this one the other day and it was AMAZING!!! The picture alone sold me instantly. Even better, you make it on the grill so no running the hot oven in the summer! The avocado and tart green tomatoes take this dish to a whole new level. Click on the pic to go to the link!

tomato-bread-I-howsweeteats.com-7

Gazpacho from The Domestic Man. Russ is your go to guy for all things gluten-free and paleo. His recipes are genius as well as tasty. Although I don’t have many diet restrictions, I’m a fan of fresh/paleo foods. If you’ve never had gazpacho, you are missing out, tomato lover. This cold soup is such a blessing on a very hot day. Click on the pick to go to the link!

img_2875

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes from Big Bear’s Wife. Don’t these look like perfection?? I tried fried green tomatoes for the first time a few years ago and was blown away. This summer I’m having a green tomato infatuation… I fear for my tomato plants! I’m trying really hard just to buy them from the local market in order to allow mine to ripen but they’re just so easy to pick and so delicious to eat!! Click on the pick to go to the link!

green tomatoes

 

Thanks for joining me for another edition of favorite finds!

Which one is your favorite??

Leave a comment