Summer Squash Breakfast Hash

Summer Squash Breakfast Hash. A delicious and healthy way to enjoy your squash in the morning! Small Town Girl Blog. This is the best breakfast ever!! Seriously. Turning squash into hash browns is healthy, flavorful, and down right awesome!! I didn’t know how much I liked squash until this summer. It’s been a very slow and steady journey over the years but I think I’m finally finding my squash voice. When I first started growing zucchini, I did it just for the zucchini bread, which is delicious, but you don’t even taste the zucchini. It kinda felt like I was cheating. So last year I started playing around with grilling and frying zucchini as many of us novice “squashers” do. Trying to bring out the flavor carefully and cautiously as to not disturb my under developed pallet. During that experimentation I came up with my favorite go to summer lunch: Zucchini Pizza Bites which I now have several variations of and enjoy for lunch almost daily. I’ve been running out of zucchini this year with how quickly I’ve been gobbling it up, and I haven’t made bread once!!! This summer Mrs. Stout introduced me to crookneck quash. Such a hideous name for such a delicious plant. Seriously, they taste like butter! There is no way this could be healthy and yet it is! I’m growing my own next year for sure!! She’s got a few plants and more squash than she knows what to do with. The first time she gave me half a dozen! I panicked thinking “What am I going to do with all these before they rot??” It was time to go to the interweb in search of new ideas! I am not about to waste a gift from a dear friend! No sir! My initial thought was turning the squash into hash and it worked perfectly. Spruce it up with some tomatoes, feta, and crack an egg of the top and you have my new favorite breakfast!! Now I’m calling up Mrs. Stout every week begging for more delicious squash. Stay tuned for other delicious recipes featuring this fantastic veggie.

IMG_9995

Ingredients:

  • 2 small summer squash  – I use zucchini and crookneck
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup sliced cherry tomatoes
  • 2 rashers of bacon or 1/4 cup diced ham
  • 3 tbsp feta
  • 2 eggs
  • salt and pepper to taste

Time: 15 minutes

Servings: 1

Instructions:

Shred squash using a wide cheese grater.

IMG_9947

Place squash in a fine colander and use the base of a cup or something similar to press as much of the moisture out as you can.

Place a medium skillet on a wide burner at medium heat.

Melt butter and coat the pan.

Add squash to the pan in a single even layer. It will look like a lot but it shrinks.

IMG_9951.1

Allow the layer to cook for 5 minutes.

Flip the sqash once and flatten it into a single even layer again.

Sprinkle tomatoes and feta over the top and cook for an additional 3 minutes.

Crack and egg on top of the hash and cover the pan for 3 minutes. The excess moisture from the squash will steam the egg perfectly!

Summer Squash Breakfast Hash. A delicious and healthy way to enjoy your squash in the morning! Small Town Girl Blog.

Salt and pepper to taste.

Now of course it looks so pretty in the pan and you could eat it right then and there in all it’s glory….

Summer Squash Breakfast Hash. A delicious and healthy way to enjoy your squash in the morning! Small Town Girl Blog.

But I like to dump it on a plate and mix it all up like a little kid. I think it tastes best that way!

Summer Squash Breakfast Hash. A delicious and healthy way to enjoy your squash in the morning! Small Town Girl Blog.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Summer Squash Breakfast Hash

  1. That looks delicious. I love making eggs that way too. I’m always putting them over something else and putting the lid on.

  2. This breakfast is perfect for those lazy, sleep-in weekend mornings 🙂 Great to connect via the ” Making Memories Mondays ” link party 🙂

  3. An original recipe I just have to try! Never thought about making squash into hash for breakfast. Looks good too! Found this over at #SimpleSupperTuesday link party. Had to come visit your cool blog!

Leave a comment