Mom’s Meaty Enchiladas

Mom's Meaty EnchiladasBecause sometimes you just want meat! I’ll admit I’m not a big carnivore. I like a little meat and a lot of pasta, veggies, sauces, and cheese. But, on occasion, meat just sounds great! That’s where this completely non – authentic, ultimate comfort food, super meat bomb comes into play. Mom has been making this since, like, forever! It’s been in the rotation since I was little. When I moved away for college, she gave me a recipe book with a couple of our family favorites including Sour Cream Chicken, Chicken and Rice, and this gem. And these meals were so crucial to my education in cooking as well as getting decent nutrition during finals week. Meat + carbs = brain food people!!  Every time I make it, it’s like being a kid again sitting around the dinner table talking about piano lessons or future family vacations. Oh nostalgia.

These days, when I make it, I like to add pico de gallo and guacamole so I feel like I’m getting some veggies in there. This dish would also go great with Mexican style beans and rice.

Oh did I mention how EASY this is too make?? If you have a family to feed, or love leftover lunches this is a must make! It only takes 20 minutes to prepare and look at the list of ingredients below! I’ll wait….. did you look? You probably already have them all. Am I right?

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lb ground beef
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp taco seasoning
  • 1 can beef or turkey chili
  • 6 medium sized flour tortillas
  • 3 cups Mexican style shredded cheese

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350.

Cook ground beef, onion, and taco seasoning in a skillet.

IMG_9749

Drain and set aside.

In a wide bowl add chili and an additional can full of water. (I got lazy and used a large skillet instead of digging for a big bowl. No I did not heat up the chili at all, just to be clear.)

IMG_9751

Set up your assembly line: chili with water, tortillas, shredded cheese, taco meat, greased 9X13 pan, and a plate to roll the enchiladas on.

IMG_9753

Dip a tortilla in the chili/water mix. Yes, this is your very unauthentic enchilada sauce… and it is awesome!! Just trust me on this.

IMG_9757

Lay it on your work plate and add taco meat and cheese. You are not going to fold in the ends of the tortilla so go ahead and put lots of taco meat in each!

Mom's Meaty Enchiladas

Roll and place in the pan seam side down. Repeat steps for the other 5 enchiladas.

Mom's Meaty Enchiladas

Bake for 15 minutes.

Strain chili/water so all that remains are the beans and meat.

Remove enchiladas from oven and sprinkle beans and cheese over the top.

Mom's Meaty Enchiladas

Bake for an additional 15 minutes.

Serve with your favorite Mexican sides:

My recipe for: Pico De Gallo

My recipe for: Guacamole

 IMG_9774

8 thoughts on “Mom’s Meaty Enchiladas

  1. I am not a big meat eater, so ours are usually just cheese LOL Thanks for sharing on the (mis)Adventures Monday Blog Hop! Can’t wait to see what you have this week!!

  2. Thanks for sharing this delicious dish at Foodie Friday and Everything Else–your recipe is featured at tonight’s party.

Leave a Reply

