Why I Love Small Towns No. 6: The Farmers Breakfast

I live in a predominantly farming community. People raise cattle, chickens, corn, pumpkins, and various other cool climate crops. Some commercially, some for themselves. It only makes sense that in a community of farmers, there should be several establishments that offer a farmers breakfast. What is a farmers breakfast you ask? The short answer is what I call a gut bomb breakfast. The term originated in the farming community way back in the day. Since farmers have such laborious jobs, it has always been critical for them to have a large breakfast that could fuel them through a long, strenuous morning.

Nowadays, it’s more of a luxury than a necessity for many. However there seems to be a rich tradition in my area when it comes to breakfast. People come from near and far to enjoy a huge plate of biscuits, or steak, or even trout, with eggs, bacon, and a mountain of hashbrowns. If you are a farmers breakfast fan, I recommend driving out to the nearest podunk town and find the nearest breakfast house. You won’t be disappointed. Just come hungry.

What makes the small town ones so special, well a couple of things:

1. Little to no wait. Seriously, have you seen that Portlandia episode about brunch where there is a mile long line? It really happens, ALL THE TIME, in the big cities. It’s the worst disappointment to daydream about a delicious weekend sit down breakfast with a rumbling tummy only to get there and have to wait for an hour. I mean seriously!

2. The history. Many of these places have been around for decades and have a rich history and tradition of how they do things. The menu, the building, and even the people are eager to share a world reminiscent of a simpler time.

3. The ambiance. Oh man the decor of these places is amazing, appalling, and adorable all at the same time. I will take a moment to share a bit more on each individually.

4. The people. The people who work and own these establishments treat you like friends and family. You are welcomed with a smile and tone that is always genuine and elated. They never seemed flustered even with a full house. They seem to glide through the tables with grace and ease that make me want to work there.

I would like to share some of my favorites from my neck of the woods. They truly capture the heart of what it is to live in a small town:

The Kitchen:

When you walk into the Kitchen, it feels like walking into a close friends home. Amy and Sherry are always there to great you with a smile and a hot pot of coffee. It’s small and casual enough you may just get a shout across the restaurant to go ahead and sit where ever you like. It doesn’t matter if it’s your first time or your fiftieth, they treat everyone with a warmth that makes you want to come back again and again.

The Kitchen, Enumclaw

It’s hard not to notice the they like their 50’s memorabilia…

The Kitchen, Enumclaw

And their coca cola memorabilia is impressive to say the least! They have several unopened bottles that must be over 40 years old! I’m not kidding! Look up on the window sill over the door!

The Kitchen, Enumclaw

This is silly but I love that they have a variety of store-bought coffee creamers. It just makes it feel that much more down home.

The Kitchen, Enumclaw

 

When it comes to farmers breakfasts, I consider myself a bit of a connoisseur. I always go for the richest, biggest, cheesiest, covered in gravy thing I can find on the menu. At The Kitchen, that would be the country benedict. A mountain of hashbrowns, topped with biscuits, sausage patties, and scrambled egg. Then smothered in country gravy and cheese. This can easily become my breakfast, lunch, and dinner for the day!

The Kitchen, Enumclaw

Charlies:

Charlies is located at the base of a popular route to Mt. Rainier National Park and Crystal Mountain Ski Resort. This makes it the perfect pit stop for many travelers. With hearty plates and an extremely friendly staff, it’s no wonder they’ve been around for years and years. It’s one of MM’s family’s favorite go to places since they work at Crystal Mountain Resort.

Charlies Diner, Enumclaw

When you walk in you are often greeted with this glorious site:

Charlies Diner, Enumclaw

I love that they have personalized coffee cups for their regulars.

Charlies Diner, Enumclaw

Super 12’s! Go Hawks 🙂

Charlies Diner, Enumclaw

And, of course my monster plate: The Redneck Benedict. biscuits topped with ham steak and poached eggs smothered in sausage gravy with my favorite homemade hash browns!

Charlies Diner, Enumclaw

The Krain Corner

The Krain corner is located on just on the outskirts of Enumclaw (our neighboring town). Once upon a time it was the town of Krain but now practically all that’s left is this wonderful restaurant/antique shop/ once town dance hall /once tavern/ once candy shop, seriously! This place has been so many things! Check out the story on the menu:

The Krain Corner

They are really into stuff. All kinds of stuff. Everywhere. There is not an inch of wall space that isn’t adorned with stuff!

The Krain Corner

And they love sharing the town and building history. The bottom left and bottom right are pictures of the building from way back in the day.

The Krain Corner

Interestingly, on this trip, I found myself sitting in the old ice shed.

The Krain Corner

They also have little antique shop inside the restaurant with more stuff!

The Krain Corner

Every coffee cup in the place is different. Apparently today was a Boeing day for us.

IMG_1410

If the conversation ever dies, there’s always old Trivial Pursuit cards to pass the time….

The Krain Corner

Oh the food! Fun fact: biscuits and gravy is offered as a choice for your bread. “And for your side? White, wheat, english muffin or biscuits and gravy?” Do you even need to ask???

The Krain Corner

As for me, I’ll have the classic eggs benedict which is perfectly made every time.

The Krain Corner

The Buttered BiscuitThe Buttered Biscuit

When I found out we were getting one of these in our neck of the woods, I was so excited. There is one down a few towns but I never was interested in going and waiting in line for an hour just to get seated. The building the owner bought up near us is HUGE and can take on quite a lot of people before overflowing. Yay!

So what’s the big deal right? Well, let me tell ya. First the portions are HUGE. Like scary huge. Like a wall of food coming at you huge! Then there’s the baked goods. Before your meal comes out, you are greeted with a massive slab of the best cornbread you’ve ever tasted. This is one of those times when you tell yourself “I’ll just have a bite.” And then it gone and your full as they set down your actual meal!

The Buttered Biscuit

I particularly love the fact that they have an entire page dedicated to different kinds of bennedict-esqe meals. I love hollandaise sauce and love those who exploit it for all it’s worth! Of all the choices, the Kim Kardashian is my favorite… as the menu says: “For those who like a little more meat in their seat”

The Buttered Biscuit

Help! I lost my fork! This was insanely good! I can’t even, no words!

The Buttered Bisciut

The moral of the story? Want a good breakfast? Go out to the sticks, ideally in the middle of a farming community, and find the nearest breakfast diner. The staff will be amazing, the service will be fantastic, and the food will blow your mind!

20 thoughts on “Why I Love Small Towns No. 6: The Farmers Breakfast

  1. I’m drooling. I love eggs benedict and I always order it when we go out for breakfast. That one you ate looks like a super duper winner….yum! You really can’t beat small town restaurants. Thanks for sharing on Merry Monday.

  2. Hi Malia,
    I live in a small Texas town and couldn’t agree more! I particularly like to go to breakfast early, early in the morning when all the workers are fueling up for a long day. I’d take that any day over a snooty private club on Park Avenue.
    Brenda Coffee

  3. Pingback: Why I Love Small Towns No. 6: The Farmers Breakfast « Enumclaw Echo

  4. I have had breakfast or lunch at 3 of the 4 restaurants over the years and agree that each place offers monster portions of great food, relaxing atmosphere and people who genuinely welcome you and make you glad that you came. But, I think you have left out another of Enumclaw’s hotspots.

    The Kettle is my favorite place for breakfast. Historically, or as far back as I can remember, the building was the lawnmower shop. The atmosphere of this place is warm, (there’s a stove in the corner for chilly days), and there are so many pictures and things on the walls that you see something different each time you’re there. You can’t miss the large collection of pig figurines, etc . Dennis and his staff of cooks and servers always make you feel like family and the hefty portions of delicious food almost guarantees you will need a take-home box for warm-up later…much later. I can barely eat “half of a half order” of a Denver Scramble. I also love the French Toast with strawberries, eggs and bacon. His muffins are to die for and often, before you leave, Dennis or one of the staff walks around the room with a large tray of right-out-of-the-oven cookies for you to take one home….or eat in the car before it gets cold. I won’t tell…. 🙂

  5. Malia,

    I couldn’t agree with you more about small towns! As a small town gal myself there is nothing I enjoy more than an old fashioned dinner breakfast! I am getting ready to start hosting a new link party with Refresh Living starting this coming Tuesday @ 7pm CST. We would love to have you join us!

    Thank you!

    Cat

  6. Oh my word! That looks amazing! We use to live by a small town diner and I loved going there. They made homemade apple doughnuts and they were just delicious and moist!

    Thanks for sharing at Inspire Me mOnday!

  7. You forgot the number one place for many….the KETTLE! You will never meet a nicer group of folks, Dennis and all his staff are absolutely AMAZING! And of course the food……those cinnamon and blueberry muffins, the Helac Scramble etc, et c. Best place for breakfast in Enumclaw!!!!!!!

    • Hi Jackie, I feel like I need to address this since I’ve received several similar comments. I am planning on doing a part 2 of this post which will include the Kettle and a couple others. Stay tuned 🙂

  8. Wow a trip back in time. I was born and raised in Enumclaw and my first job was at Charlies washing dishes. And I remember the kitchen back in the 60’s when I was a child. And I remember the Kettle moving around town over the years, such a great town with such good restaurants.

  9. What a great post and review. You should post it on Urbanspoon. Thanks for linking up and sharing with us at Funtastic Friday. Hope you join us again this week.

Leave a Reply

