Loaded Corn Casserole

CLoaded Corn Casserole. Fresh corn, bacon, and chives take this traditional favorite to a whole new level. Small Town Girl Blog.orn, sour cream, bacon, and cornbread baked to perfection and topped with cheese chives and a little more sour cream. Welcome to your new favorite side dish: Loaded corn casserole. This easy and delicious baked side will have the whole family cheering!

I was introduced to corn casserole on New Year’s Eve. It accompanied an incredible smoked brisket. An amazing meal to be sure. I was fascinated watching Sista start with cornbread mix (which I thought she was making) and add corn and sour cream. I said to her, “Girl, what are you doing?!?!” She explained that it was her hubby’s grandmas recipe to which my eyes got wide and my ears perked up. I love old-fashioned recipes, there’s a reason they’ve been around for so long right? Oh man it was so good and perfect with the brisket!

There’s really nothing to the recipe, everyone pretty much makes it the same. So why not play around with it a little right? Give it some flair! Since corn is coming up in droves from California, I decided to use fresh instead of a can. Oh man, that was a GREAT choice! If you have good sweet corn in season, get the real stuff, it’s so worth it! Loading it up like a baked potato sounded like a good idea too… and yes it was! It worked perfectly. I used a little less butter to compensate for the oiliness of the bacon but other than that, it was easy! I hope you love it as much as we did!!

Ingredients

  • 1 15 oz. can whole kernel corn, drained OR 2 ears fresh corn when in season
  • 1  8.5 oz box Jiffy cornbread mix
  • 1 15 oz. can creamed corn  – do not drain!
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 3 tbsp butter melted
  • 6 rashers of bacon
  • 1/2 bunch green onion chopped
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Time: 1 hour 10 minutes

Servings: 8

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cook and chop bacon. If using fresh corn, boil and cut off the cob.

IMG_9035

Thoroughly combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl.

Pour mixture into a greased 9 x 13 pan.

Bake for 40 minutes.

Sprinkle the top with cheese and bake for an additional 10 minutes.

Garnish with chives and serve immediately.

Loaded Corn Casserole. Fresh corn, bacon, and chives take this traditional favorite to a whole new level. Small Town Girl Blog.

27 thoughts on “Loaded Corn Casserole

  1. This looks scrumptious! It is one of my personal favorite top side dishes, although I have never had it with bacon. Being a bacon loving girl, I know that it only makes the dish taste even better! I’ll have to try it next time!

  2. This looks delicious! This would be great to bring to a potluck. I haven’t had creamed corn in such a long time, used to love it! I never thought about using it in a recipe. I’m going to pin this because I’m pretty sure the next time I go to a potluck this summer I’m going to wish I had pinned this, lol.

  3. We enjoyed your corn casserole recipe over the weekend. Yum! My husband likes jalapenos in just about everything, so next time its made it will have jalapenos in it and I might add an egg or two to see what happens! Great recipe. Thanks for sharing it!

  4. Does the jiffy corn bread mix make it too sweet? I find that for me it is too sweet. Can you mix up your own corn bread with white corn meal?

    • Hi Mary, I don’t see why not. I like the sweetness personally. I’ve never made cornbread from scratch though so I can’t speak to that. If you try it, let me know how it goes. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment