Garlic Dill Dip

Garlic Dill Dip. The most amazing dip in the world. This is the only one you will ever need. Great for all occasions. Seriously, you need this in your life! Small Town Girl Blog.This is the single most amazing dip in the world!! I’m serious. It’s a rare day that you won’t find this in our fridge at home. It’s quick, easy to make, keeps for up to a week, and goes with just about everything. I enjoy eating it especially with pita chips and fresh snap peas from the garden but it’s also great with french fries, roasted potatoes, in salad, on a sandwich, on grilled chicken, as a veggie dip, chip dip, you name it! This dip permanently replaced almost all cream based dressing or dips in our house. It’s the perfect flavor for every occasion. I can’t rave about it enough!! Oh and best of all? The lightened up version which is only 30 calories per tbsp tastes just as awesome! If fact, that’s all I make.

I’ve been making this recipe for years and have only waited to share with you now because I wanted to take the pics with my fresh grown snap peas in the garden. Silly I know, but I’m so proud of my homegrown veggies. So where did this wonderful recipe come from? The long-short of it is its my friend’s father’s recipe. One camping trip several years back, she made it and presented it to us as a veggie dip for a relaxing hot afternoon. It was sensational. Everyone went nuts for it, including me. I begged for the recipe and started making it on a regular basis. Naturally I asked if I could write a post for the blog as well. Being the good buddy that she is, she naturally said yes! Hooray! Now I get to share with the world!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup mayo (light mayo for the lighter version)
  • 1 cup sour cream (fat-free or light for the lighter version)
  • 1/4 medium yellow onion
  • 4 cloves garlic pressed
  • 1 tbsp dried dill
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Prep time: 10 minutes

Chill time: at least 3 hours

Important: It will not taste right until you let the dill and garlic permeate for a few hours. You just have to wait!

Instructions

Using a fine cheese grater, grate the onion to get about 1 tbsp of onion zest.

IMG_9167

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and chill for at least 3 hours before serving.

Garlic Dill Dip. The most amazing dip in the world. This is the only one you will ever need. Great for all occasions. Seriously, you need this in your life! Small Town Girl Blog.

15 thoughts on “Garlic Dill Dip

  1. This sounds great. I hope to make this soon. I love garlic, onions, and dill so I can’t wait to try it. Have you tried this dip with Greek Yogurt (I like to use it to replace sour cream it works pretty well in other dips)?

    • I have but I still like it best with mayo and sour cream. I know greek yogurt would be healthier but I’ve trained my taste buds to love this version. Thanks for the suggestion and stopping by. I bet you’ll love it either way.

  2. Oh my! This looks simply delicious. There is nothing better than a delicious dip in these hot summer days. During the hot evenings of the Caribbean summer, my husband and I make a couple of dips, open a bottle of wine, and call it a dinner.
    This is going to be the next one I’ll try. :))
    Cheers!

  3. Who could pass this up! It looks and sounds fabulous. Thanks for linking up and sharing with us at Funtastic friday. Hope to see you again this week.

  4. Easy and looks yummy! Thanks for sharing on the (mis)Adventures Mondays Blog Hop. I can’t wait to see what you share this week!

Leave a Reply

