The Stormy Mojito

A delicious mash-up cocktail! Part mojito, part dark and stormy. All delicious! The perfect summer drink! Small Town Girl Blog.A delicious mash-up cocktail! Part Mojito, part Dark and Stormy. I’m sure you’ve heard of a mojito but you probably haven’t heard of a dark and stormy have you? It’s my absolute favorite summer drink. Essentially, it’s dark rum, ginger ale, and a lime garnish. I prefer mine with a spiced rum like Captain Morgan’s or Sailor Jerry’s and lighter more mainstream ginger ale like Canada Dry. It’s light refreshing and perfect for a hot day. Seriously, try it!

 

A delicious mash-up cocktail! Part mojito, part dark and stormy. All delicious! The perfect summer drink! Small Town Girl Blog.So how did the stormy mojito come to be? Well, it started with a hot day, naturally. There was nothing in the fridge to sip on except the fancy organic super gingery ale by Reed’s that I used to make my Crockpot Ginger Ale Pulled Pork. Generally, if you order a dark and stormy at a restaurant, it will come with a strong organic ginger ale that is a bit bitey like Reed’s. The first sip was very gingery and needed to be tamed so I added some lime juice. At that point, I thought to myself, “Well, I’m half way to a mojito…” Next thing I know I’m snatching mint of my overgrown plant (see it in the background of the pics?) and grabbing my muddler. This was such a good idea!! The muddled mint and lime are a perfect complement to the strong ginger ale. This is the perfect summer cocktail! I hope you love it as much as I do!!

Ingredients:

  • 2 oz spiced rum
  • 5 oz organic ginger ale (Reed’s)
  • 5 mint leaves
  • 2 lime wedges

Equipment: Cocktail tumbler and muddler. Hint: if you don’t have a muddler, try using the back end of a wooden spoon or something similar. Works like a charm!

Instructions:

Add spiced rum, mint, and lime to tumbler and muddle vigorously.

Strain over ice and add ginger ale.

A delicious mash-up cocktail! Part mojito, part dark and stormy. All delicious! The perfect summer drink! Small Town Girl Blog.

19 thoughts on “The Stormy Mojito

  1. This sounds so great. I love Reed’s!! I used to work in a health food store and I’d buy one every shift. Pinned to my pinterest cocktail board! #foodiefriendsfriday

  2. Thanks so much for sharing your delicious Stormy Mojito recipe this weekend with Foodie Friends Friday Party. Pinned and shared on my FB page today. We look forward to seeing you again soon with another delicious recipe.

  3. Pingback: Friday Favorites #276 - Drinks are on me! - The Chunky Chef

  4. This looks like my kind of drink! Thanks for linking up and sharing with us at Funtastic Friday. Please join us again this week:-)

  5. Pingback: Block Party: Summertime Drink Recipes Features - Rae Gun Ramblings

  6. Pingback: Awesome Things Tuesday - 83 - My Craftily Ever After

  7. Hi Malia, I am putting together a Summer Cocktail post from links submitted to Friday Favorites. I am featuring your The Stormy Mojito Cocktail …with credit to you of course. I hope you do not mind…Please let me know if do not want me to use it. Thank you again for sharing at Friday Favorites Link Party! Hugs-Christine at Must Love Home

Leave a Reply

