Sekiu Halibut Trip 2015

Well, it wasn’t the best halibut trip, but it wasn’t the worst either. We certainly didn’t come home empty handed, the weather was great, and the company fantastic! I managed to sprain my pinky tossing a football around on the last evening…. besides natural clumsiness, my dear friend Sailor Jerry was also involved in this debacle. Suffice to say, it hurts to type. I think we’ll just do pictures and captions today, sound good? Ok!

The water was consistently rough most of the trip. Here’s where it got to be to chaotic to fish….

Here’s me hanging on for dear life!

IMG_1344

Our sweet sweet ride for most of the trip.

IMG_8474

IMG_8464

Aptly named… This is Bob, owner of the Bobber and Mountain Man’s dad.

IMG_8476

IMG_8431

Sadly, the only halibut we caught all weekend.

IMG_8440

But we were happy to be catching cod too. This is Mr. Awesome enjoying bringing in his catch.

IMG_1375

Oh my Cod!

IMG_8453

So many boats!!

FullSizeRender

One of my highlights was driving the big boat!

IMG_8491

After halibut closed, we did a quick run for sea bass off “The Caves”. It’s like fish in a barrel. We caught 12 in a little over an hour. Easy peasy. A great morale boost for the less fruitful trips.

IMG_8529

The main cave of “The Caves”

IMG_8558

These are also considered part of the “The Caves” but I think they should be called “The Toes.”

IMG_8564

He is so cool! Love my MM ❤

IMG_8577

When we weren’t on the boat, we were here, at Van Ripers.

IMG_1356

Me and Mrs. Stout cutting loose. They brought this fantastic redneck board game. Hilarious!

IMG_1359

The fat sea lions come strickly for halibut season. They eat all the carcasses, mate, and are gone with fishermen once halibut season closes.

IMG_8458

Excuse me, I think someone broke the dock… lol

8 thoughts on “Sekiu Halibut Trip 2015

  1. I am a big fan of boating, but an even bigger fan of White Swiss Shepherds! Couldn’t resist admiring your 2 beautiful Shepherds, I have a 5yr old female ‘Storm’, she’s the most amazingly loyal and loving dog! Enjoyed you post, look forward to seeing more of your adventures!

Leave a Reply

