Better Than Take-Out Sweet and Sour Chicken

Better than take-out sweet and sour chicken. Small Town Girl BlogThis is the best sweet and sour sauce and the best Asian style deep fried chicken ever!! The sauce is easily made and full of the tangy goodness you want and none of the yucky additives you don’t. The chicken is perfectly crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. Served with rice, egg rolls, noodles, or by itself, this is the recipe you’ve been waiting for!! Believe me, I’ve tried everything, the buck stops here, and the buck is good!

I have a few simple principles when it comes to eating out:

1. If it takes all day to make and your happy with the take-out version, do that. Pho for example. I am not going to go to the butcher, get bones, make broth etc etc. Not to mention all the herbs! Ugh effort! Especially when I can get perfection for less that $10 down the road. Yeah, that’s what I’m going to do. Fortunately, sweet and sour chicken only takes 30 minutes in your kitchen, hooray!

2. If you have a recipe you make at home that you love, never order it from restaurant. You will consistently be disappointed. I used to always order fettuccine alfredo and french dips at restaurants. But now that I’ve perfected my recipes (check out links above), I never do. Trust me, nothing is more disappointing that expecting your personal best and getting someone else’s conveyor-belt version. I’m pretty certain sweet and sour chicken is now added to this list. It may still be my go to when I am taken out for Chinese but it will never be the same now. But I’m ok with that. I always feel so satisfied when I exceed my restaurant expectations. Winning!!

Ingredients:

SauceBetter than take-out sweet and sour chicken. Small Town Girl Blog

  • 1 8 oz. can pineapple juice
  • 1 can (20 oz.) pineapple tidbits
  • 1/2 diced green pepper (optional)
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup  apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup Aloha Shoyu (or soy sauce if you can’t find it at the store)
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 3 Tbsp  Cornstarch

Everything else:

  • 3 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • Cornstarch as needed (about 1 1/2 cup)
  • 2 tbsp garlic powder

Time: 30 minutes

Servings: 2

Instructions

In a saucepan over medium heat whisk pineapple juice (from the can) , vinegar, shoyu, cornstarch, and sugar until smooth. Really squeeze every last drop of pineapple juice out of the can.

Bring to a simmer, stirring occasionally for 5 minutes.

Turn heat down low and add 1/3 cup of pineapple tidbits and 1/2 chopped peppers to the sauce.

Preheat the oven to 300.

To prepare the chicken: click here

Perfect little Asian style nuggets. Great for sweet and sour, honey garlic, general tso, and other take out favorites! Small Town Girl Blog

Once the chicken is initially fried, put it in a baking dish.

Ladle out nearly all of the peppers and pineapple tidbits out of the sauce with a slotted spoon.

Toss to coat.

Better than take-out sweet and sour chicken. Small Town Girl Blog

Bake for 15 minutes or until chicken is completely cooked through.

Serve over rice or noodles.

Extra sauce can be poured over sides or used for dipping.

Better than take-out sweet and sour chicken. Small Town Girl Blog

12 thoughts on “Better Than Take-Out Sweet and Sour Chicken

  1. I totally agree regarding making your own and only going out for those things that are either hard to make or just to time consuming. Thanks for sharing on Merry Monday.

  2. Yum! Sweet and sour chicken is my favorite! And you are so right about making your own and then eating it somewhere else – it’s just not the same! Thanks for sharing at the Creative Inspiration party – hope to see you next week!

  3. I sooooo want to try this one!
    I’m always torn on store bought sweet and sour sauce.I feel like there’s something lacking there!

    xx
    Mila

  4. Oh this looks soo good. I am a big Chinese food addict. I would love to be able to make my own sweet and sour chicken. Thanks for linking up to Friday Favorites! I hope you stop by again this week. I have also pinned your post!

Leave a Reply

