Zesty Southwest Salsa

IMG_7336

Looking for a heartier salsa? Something with substance beyond tasty vegetables? Perhaps a new arrangement of flavors to brighten your next Taco Tuesday? Look no further! My zesty southwest salsa will rock your world! Corn and black beans give that robust flavor synonymous with the name as well as a protein punch to fill your belly. Tomatillos compliment the traditional tomatoes not only in flavor but in color too making this salsa not only tasty but pretty too!

I’m obsessed with tomatillos lately. I love them! Not surprising since I adore tomatoes and have since birth. The first time I utilized them last year, I figured they would behave just like regular tomatoes. When I cut the first one open, I expected the seeds and gel to ooze out like their kin. I was surprised to find they stayed intact. I was further enamored with the tart citrus flavor that was nothing like my favorite red fruit…. vegetable….. whatever! Suddenly it all came together. The green sauce in enchilada suiza, that zing in my favorite restaurant salsa, I wonder if I could infuse this in a margarita! Hmmmmm.IMG_7328

Ingredients:

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 small can fresh corn
  • 6 tomatoes, roma or vine ripened
  • 4 tomatillos
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 1 small can of green chilies
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded
  • 1 lime juiced
  • 1/4 tsp salt

 Time: 10 minutes

Servings: 8

 Instructions:

Drain and rinse black beans and corn.

Dice up vegetables and herbs.

Mix beans, corn, veggies, and herbs in a large bowl.

Squeeze lime and add salt.

Stir, cover, and chill.

IMG_7359

 

 

10 thoughts on “Zesty Southwest Salsa

  1. Hi there! Visiting from the Best of the Weekend. This looks so delicious and your veggies look soo good and fresh! Great photos!

  2. This salsa looks fantastic! This looks like a winner recipe for sure! I like your pico de gayo too! so many choices! pinning and stumbling!
    Thanks so much for linking up at #Purebloglove link party! The party starts every Thursday night at 8 p.m. est! It runs through the week end. I’m hosting at http://www.homemadefoodjunkie.com. Can’t wait to see what you bring next Thursday. We love your ideas!

  3. Man, this looks tasty! Perfect timing too since my husband and I have committed to eating healthier. And I love me some Mexican! Thank you so much for sharing this over at Merry Monday! Pinned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

