Pico De Gallo Sencillo

Simple pico de gallo. Great with everything Mexican! Tacos, enchilladas, tostadas, or even just chips! Small Town Girl Blog. What does Pico De Gallo mean? Pico De Gallo, actually means roosters beak! It is named this because a long time ago people used to eat it by pinching little bits between their fingers. Thus making their hands look like a birds beak…. ridiculous but true. A more apt name would probably be salsa fresca and people do call it that too, but I’ve always known it as Pico de gallo.

What does Sencillo mean? Sencillo means simple and this is as simple as it gets. There are lots of variations and preferences to this dish but the basic is easy and has been a go to snack, side, and occasionally meal for me for the past 10+ years. Suffice to say, I love it.

What is the difference between pico de gallo and salsa? Pico is fresh. You chop, dice, mix, and done. Salsa often includes some simmering of vegetables to create a sauce that the chunks sit in. Often when I think of salsa, I think of something with an almost entirely liquid consitency. Pico, in opposition has little liquid since it is mostly chunky.

How do you make your pico de gallo? I do have a few tips I would like to share:

  1. Use firm tomatoes. Not under-ripe, but firm. If they are soft, the texture is totally disappointing.IMG_7143
  2. Do not seed your tomatoes. That little bit of liquid helps meld flavors
  3. There is Pico de Gallo seasoning out there and it’s wonderful! I found it with the authentic Mexican veggies at Winco. I’m betting you can also find it at authentic Mexican grocery stores.
  4. Use equal parts onion and tomato. If they look like they are at a 1:1 ratio, that is the sweet spot in my opinion.
  5. Yellow onions, not white! White are too sharp, go mellow with yellow.
  6. Hand chop everything! Using a food processor give you more of that liquidy salsa and that is not what you’re going for. I’ve also tried the chopper, but I’m too rough with them, I’ve broken 3! I have yet to find a tool that chops it as perfectly as my own two hands… If you know of a secret weapon that helps in the chopping department, please let me know! I would love to find one!!

Ingredients:IMG_7154

  • 4-6 tomatoes
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 1/2 jalapeno seeded
  • 1/2 juice of lime
  • 1 dash pico de gallo seasoning
  • 1 dash salt

Instructions

Dice tomatoes, onion, jalapeno, and cilantro.

Add to a bowl and season with lime, pico de gallo seasoning, and salt.

Toss and chill for 30 minutes.

Simple pico de gallo. Great with everything Mexican! Tacos, enchilladas, tostadas, or even just chips! Small Town Girl Blog.

19 thoughts on “Pico De Gallo Sencillo

  1. I am from South Texas and we eat tons of this…thanks for another good recipe and for sharing it on the Thursday Blog Hop!

  2. Oh yum! Pico de Gallo is one of my all time favorite things! In fact, I had it with dinner tonight. I top is on everything from tacos and chips, to veggies and grilled meat. I use it like other people would use ketchup, mustard, or BBQ sauce. I’m okay with it. To me it tastes better and is fresh and healthy for ya! I will have to try the Pico seasoning! I’ve never heard of it before. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pinning for future reference. I love Pico de Gallo, but have never been able to make it right, I am excited to try your recipe and your tips! I make a good salsa, perhaps now I can make this too!

  4. Pingback: Easy Stacked Enchiladas Verdes | The Ramblings of an Aspiring Small Town Girl

  5. Pingback: Friday Favorites

  6. Pingback: Mom’s Meaty Enchiladas | The Ramblings of an Aspiring Small Town Girl

Leave a Reply

