Veggie Plotting: Phase 1

Friday marked the first day I set foot in my veggie plot since fall. The weather has been abnormally warm all winter so I felt fairly confident in starting up a little early. I couldn’t be happier that garden season has begun!!

The first step was to go get onion starts from my local fancy nursery.

IMG_0909

Then I made sure I had all my provisions squared away for the day: Water, seeds, starts, a great playlist, bandanna (I always need a bandanna) and victory beers for when I’m ready to sit back and enjoy my handiwork.

IMG_6648

Oh and I almost forgot! Gotta have a dog and a frisbee for break time! Yes there is a drift boat in my yard, rednecks…sigh.

IMG_6662

Oh boy, what have I gotten myself into?

Ah, that’s better!

Pacific Northwest Spring vegetable gardening. Peas, onions, and lettuce. Small Town Girl.

Tilling was a complete pain! My tiller is on the fritz so I was only able to till the areas that I was planting today rather than the whole place. I’m thinking a shiny new on may be in my near future purchases.

Pacific Northwest Spring vegetable gardening. Peas, onions, and lettuce. Small Town Girl.

Freshly tilled, weeded, leveled, and ready to plant!

Frisbee break!!

IMG_6664

I’m trying something new this year with my snap peas: tee-pee trellis. One of my biggest veggie garden dramas is the ongoing struggle to find an adequate support for my snap peas. They tend to bend, twist, and warp and it drives me crazy! They still grow great but the asymmetrical depravity grates on my OCD tenancies. I’m hopeful that the sturdiness of this design might be the sweet spot I’ve been looking for. Β Time will tell.

Pacific Northwest Spring vegetable gardening. Peas, onions, and lettuce. Small Town Girl.

In the ground and ready to grow!

Pacific Northwest Spring vegetable gardening. Peas, onions, and lettuce. Small Town Girl.

Frisbee break!!

IMG_6659

Next was the Walla Walla sweet onion starts….

Pacific Northwest Spring vegetable gardening. Peas, onions, and lettuce. Small Town Girl.

And finally the lettuce plot. I’m trying a new thing this year where I just scatter a whole bunch of different types in the same area and not worry about it. I find the less I concentrate on my greens the better they grow lol.

Pacific Northwest Spring vegetable gardening. Peas, onions, and lettuce. Small Town Girl.

That’s all for phase 1. Next up: mulching and carrots!

16 thoughts on “Veggie Plotting: Phase 1

  1. I can’t wait to start m garden! Yours looks great! So glad that you join Making Memories Mondays today!
    Cathy

  2. I’m getting ready to start seedlings indoors this week. SO jealous that you had a warmer than usual Winter! Can’t wait to see how the teepee trellis works.
    PS Found you via threekidsandafish’s Monday link up πŸ™‚

  3. YAY for gardens! πŸ˜€ I’ve had such a fun time starting my first garden and now am curious to see what other people put in theirs! I will definitely be following along to see how your garden progresses πŸ™‚ That trellis looks great — I think those snap peas will enjoy it! I love your pictures and your cute pebble trim. If you’d like to check out my garden as it grows be sure to stop by http://bit.ly/flogarden
    Blessings,
    ~Andrea

  4. Pingback: My How You’ve Grown! | The Ramblings of an Aspiring Small Town Girl

  5. You’re garden looks like it’s off to a great start. We just got our tomatoes and have some baby bell peppers growing already. I’m so excited that springs here!

  6. Great going! We are still waiting for the ground to thaw. 😦 Soon…. so very soon…… Thanks for sharing on the (mis)Adventures Mondays Blog Hop!!

  7. We re planting too right now. Lots of fun in the garden this time of year. Try raised beds for an easier experience? We waited three decades to do that. We are so glad we finally are moving that direction! Thanks for sharing this post at the #PureblogLove Link party! The party begins againThursday night at 8 p.m. EST. We’d love to see more of your fantastic ideas!

  8. It looks like you have a great soil to start with. Lovely photostory. I think you are going to get a nice garden with all that hard work. I look forward to see the progress. Finally – your dog is so cute. Happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

