The Great Redneck Scavenger Hunt Part 1

Jeff Foxworthy…. That is where this idea began. For over 30 years he has been listing the indicators that will gauge whether you are indeed a redneck. When I first heard some of these, long before I moved to a small town, I thought they were funny but not as common as he made them out to be. Boy, was I wrong, many of his statements are now found in my own home! As I looked around I found more and more!! Then it occurred to me, how much fun would it be to turn this into a game! A scavenger hunt!

Mr. Foxworthy’s definition of redneck is “A glorious absence of sophistication” Oh yes, it is glorious! Truely. I love the comfort and ease that comes with living in a redneck town. You don’t have to put on airs for anything you don’t want to. As my Mountain Man would say, “It’s just how we do.”

He also states that you can’t make fun of redneck unless you are one. I know Mountain Man “are” one. I’m trying really hard to be one too! It’s tough! Often rational thought beats it out of me so often. That is why I consider myself still an aspiring small town girl. As the years roll by, little things do change. I’ve traded my jackets for hoodies and sneakers for cowboy boots. I listen to country music… and enjoy it enthusiastically which I never thought would happen. I’ve heard myself say words like “reckon” “yonder” and “darn right.” Sometimes it even startles me when I hear myself. So I’m getting there.

As I looked around my town, I find many redneck indicators that Jeff had not mentioned before. I felt it was only acceptable to create my own as well as use his when they crossed my path. I hope you enjoy my new favorite game. Here we go:

Jeff’s

If the coffee table used to be a telephone spool… you might be a redneck.

IMG_6519

I think a keg as an entertainment stand falls nicely into this category, don’t you?

If you own more than 3 shirts with cut off sleeves…. you might be a redneck

IMG_6516

Check!

If you own more than 20 baseball caps… you might be a redneck

IMG_6512

I assure you, these aren’t even half of them!

Mine:

If you think a 2 month old, dried up christmas tree maked excellent bonfire material… you might be a redneck.

IMG_0815

If you consider old logging equipment stylish landscape decor… you might be a redneck.

??????????

If all of your drinking glasses have sport or alcohol logos on them… you might be a redneck.

glasses

To be continued….

4 thoughts on “The Great Redneck Scavenger Hunt Part 1

  1. I love this! I grew up in a small town and have seen someone cruising on a lawn mower down the middle of the “busiest” street in town on more than one occasion. Truly have to have lived it to believe these things can occur. Have a great weekend.

  2. Old Christmas trees are the best! Here is one for you…. if you see a riding lawn mower broke down on the main street of town and another riding lawn mower stops to help…… Seen it more then once! LOL Thanks for sharing on the (mis)Adventures Mondays Blog Hop!

  3. If you get this post, you might be or have been a redneck LOL I lived in Mechanicsville, VA and then a couple of small towns in Ohio. I know exactly what you mean 🙂

Leave a Reply

