Crockpot Ginger Ale Pulled Pork

Fall off the bone pulled pork smothered in barbecue sauce! Served on a bun or straight up with a side of coleslaw, this savory dish will have the whole family in very messy grins.Fall off the bone pulled pork smothered in barbecue sauce! Served on a bun or straight up with a side of coleslaw, this savory dish will have the whole family in very messy grins. Small Town Girl Blog

I’m not a huge fan of pulled pork smothered in barbecue sauce, I find it often too saucy and somewhat lacking in flavors I enjoy. So when Bestie made this for me a while back, I shrugged my shoulders and tried to be polite about what we were having for dinner even though, to say the least, I was not thrilled . Boy did I have a different tune to sing after dinner! The meat was flavorful and the barbecue sauce didn’t overpower the dish! There was also this sweet spice hint that quickly had me asking questions and imploring if I could share this recipe on the blog. The answer? Ginger beer. Genius! I was never really liking the idea of adding cola to pork in the crockpot (which seems to be a popular option these days).  I’m not a really into cola, or pulled pork for that matter, so why bother right? I’m telling you people, this is the way to go! A great Sunday meal when you don’t want to do too much work in the kitchen.

In my opinion, I think the best thing to serve with Pulled pork sandwiches is coleslaw. Here are a few recipes I’ve tried and adore!

Crunchy Napa Cabbage Slaw Recipe by Made in a Day

Crunchy Napa Cabbage Slaw madeinaday.com

Apple and Poppy Seed Coleslaw by Damn Delicious

Apple and Poppy Seed Coleslaw - Wonderfully tangy and refreshing, and the perfect side dish to any meal!

Ingredients:Fall off the bone pulled pork smothered in barbecue sauce! Served on a bun or straight up with a side of coleslaw, this savory dish will have the whole family in very messy grins. Small Town Girl Blog

  • 1 pork shoulder roast
  • 2 bottles/cans ginger beer
  • 1 medium yellow onion sliced
  • 4 whole garlic cloves
  • Dijon mustard
  • 2-3 cups of your favorite barbecue sauce (I use Stubb’s original)
  • Fresh Bakery sandwich rolls – kaiser, mini french, cibatta, foccacia, etc.

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 6-8 hours

Servings: 8-12 depending on the size of the roast

 Instructions:

Slice the pork shoulder roast once vertically and twice horizontally. This will help the meat cook faster.

Fall off the bone pulled pork smothered in barbecue sauce! Served on a bun or straight up with a side of coleslaw, this savory dish will have the whole family in very messy grins. Small Town Girl Blog

Rub down the roast in dijon mustard and add the ginger beer, yellow onion, and garlic to the crockpot.

Fall off the bone pulled pork smothered in barbecue sauce! Served on a bun or straight up with a side of coleslaw, this savory dish will have the whole family in very messy grins. Small Town Girl Blog

Cook on high for 4-6 hours. It should fall apart relatively easily when it’s ready.

Remove the pork from the crockpot and shred. I used my kitchenaid mixer with paddle. It was super easy!

Fall off the bone pulled pork smothered in barbecue sauce! Served on a bun or straight up with a side of coleslaw, this savory dish will have the whole family in very messy grins. Small Town Girl Blog

Remove most of the liquid from the crockpot but save the onions!

Add the shredded pork back to the crockpot and smother it in Barbeque Sauce. Use as much as you like. Once it’s the consistency you want, cook on low for another hour or two.

Fall off the bone pulled pork smothered in barbecue sauce! Served on a bun or straight up with a side of coleslaw, this savory dish will have the whole family in very messy grins. Small Town Girl Blog

Serve up and devour!

Fall off the bone pulled pork smothered in barbecue sauce! Served on a bun or straight up with a side of coleslaw, this savory dish will have the whole family in very messy grins. Small Town Girl Blog

20 thoughts on “Crockpot Ginger Ale Pulled Pork

  1. I love pulled pork, will definetly try it with ginger beer next time. And thanks for the link to the napa cabbage slaw. I had a recipe for it years ago, and recently have been trying to find it again. Perfect!

  2. Oh wow that looks so tempting!! Until recently, I was never a pulled pork fan, but now I’m loving all the flavor combinations there are… this is a recipe I’ve got to try 😀 Thank you for linking up to Friday Favorites 😀 Enjoy your weekend!

  3. I’ve been wanting to try pulled pork so ages, maybe soon I will. Your version is making my mouth water. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!! Laura@Baking in Pyjamas

  4. Pingback: Friday's Fabulous Five #31 - Living a simple life by homesteading & homemaking

  5. I love everything about this post. Can’t wait to try your recipe with ginger beer–and you slaw looks awesome, too.

  6. I’m not a fan of BBQ either and will have to try this out. We make Kalua pig all the time and I avoid BBQ sauce on it at all cost…lol. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

  7. *drool* I gotta stop looking at your beautiful photos of amazing food so late at night. LOL Thanks so much for sharing on the (mis)Adventures Mondays Blog Hop.

  8. This sounds yummy! I love making pulled pork in the crock pot, but have never tried it with ginger beer, it sounds wonderful. Thanks for sharing at What’d You Do This Weekend? 🙂

  9. This looks delicious…and easy to make. A winning combination!! Thank you for sharing at the Friday Favorites Link Party! I hope to see you again this week:) Hugs – Christine

  10. Pingback: The Stormy Mojito | The Ramblings of an Aspiring Small Town Girl

Leave a Reply

