Only the Strong Survive

Things are going swimmingly here in my little corner of the world. All of the tomatoes, onions, and herbs are taking off…

IMG_6319

Almost all the tomatoes have their true leaves now. They are even starting to smell like tomatoes!!

IMG_6322

Today I thinned out the weakest starts to give way for the strongest. As you can see, it’s pretty obvious who’s winning the “I’m the best plant” game in this tiny peat pot.

IMG_6324

After snipping back the little ones, I used bamboo skewers to help support the stems.

IMG_6327

Ah, doesn’t that feel better, little guys?IMG_6331

The onions might not look like much right now, but they’re doing their thing. The ones I bought last year looked about the same and grew big fat onions. I’m feeling pretty confident that they are happy.

IMG_6332

Meanwhile, back at the garden….

Mountain Man is working hard to clean up and revive our front yard.

IMG_6333

I couldn’t believe these primroses came back. Aren’t they annuals? Looks like somethings been munching on them to… hmmmm.

IMG_6334

The daffodils are just about to open! IMG_6336

The croci popped up about a month ago and haven’t quit yet.

IMG_6338

Remember I said I was going to cut back the rhodies?

IMG_5373

Yeah, I did that. I know it looks awful right now but you won’t even notice once the garden is going, I promise! I was actually entertaining the idea of ripping them out, but that sounds super involved for a residence we are hoping to vacate next year.

IMG_6340

Several perennials are beginning to stretch out their limbs. He’re my daylily.

IMG_6341

Darned if I can remember what this one is called. Anyone?

IMG_6342

For funsies, I planted one dahlia. When rummaging through my tubers, I came across a bag labeled IDK, lol. By the time I took them down, this one had no blooms to make it recognizable. It’s identity remains a mystery. This seemed the best choice since I can’t be heartbroken over an unknown plant if it never grows… we shall see.

IMG_6344

To be continued.

Click on the links below if you would like to catch up on this series about seed planting.

Part 1

Part 2

How are things going in your garden?

19 thoughts on “Only the Strong Survive

  1. I always hate thinning out my sprouts 😦 But you do what you gotta do! Using the bamboo skewers as supports is a great idea! My tomatoes always start flopping over before they get thrown outside. Thank you for sharing at Merry Monday!

  2. I have nothing but snow on top of snow. I know my garden is out there somewhere! I am so jealous of your green and the flowers! Thank you for being part of the (mis)Adventures Monday Blog Hop!

  3. Love your story about your seedlings. Plants are amazing and each one tells a story. Thank you very much for joining in the celebration of #purebloglove, we enjoy having you each week. I hope to see you on Thursday at 8PM, EST through Sunday night. ~Cydnee

  4. Pingback: Friday Favorites

  5. Pingback: My How You’ve Grown! | The Ramblings of an Aspiring Small Town Girl

Leave a Reply

