Sweet and Spicy Asparagus

Next time you make asparagus, try this pan-fried Asian twist. The sweet chili sauce gives it that sweet spice that I just adore. Throw in some soy sauce, garlic, and fresh ginger for a POW that will send your taste buds reeling!Sweet and Spicy Asparagus.  The chili sauce gives it that sweet spice that I just adore. Throw in some soy sauce, garlic, and fresh ginger for a POW that will send your taste buds reeling! Small Town Girl Blog.

I love asparagus, Mountain Man loves asparagus, the dog and cat do not…. but that would be weird if they did, right? Weird or awesome?!?Lol. Anyway, it’s one of our go-to sides. I mean, why not, it’s delicious, healthy, cheap, easy to prepare, goes with almost everything. Yay asparagus!! Last week, I was making steak with asparagus and realized I was kind of sick of the same old olive oil, garlic, and lemon routine. So I rummaged through my spices, sauces, etc and came up with this. I was super jazzed at how well it turned out! The flavor was so outstanding, I gobbled it all up before even touching my steak! The second time I made it, MM started picking it right out of the pan before I could even serve up dinner! I hope you enjoy it as much as we are!

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 bunch asparagus
  • 1/3 cup aloha shoyu (soy sauce)
  • 1/4 cup sweet chili sauce
  • 2 tsp shredded ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves, pressed or finely chopped

Time: 20 minutes

Servings: 3

Instructions

In a small bowl, combine shoyu, chili, ginger, and garlic

Heat up olive oil in a sauce pan on medium high.

Trim asparagus and spread out in the pan.

Leave it alone to pan sear for 5 minutes.

Toss and add 1/2 of sauce mixture.

Sweet and Spicy Asparagus.  The chili sauce gives it that sweet spice that I just adore. Throw in some soy sauce, garlic, and fresh ginger for a POW that will send your taste buds reeling! Small Town Girl Blog.

Pan sear for another 5 minutes.

Add the other 1/2 of the sauce mixture (if needed).

Pan sear for an additional 5 minutes.

Serve immediately.

Sweet and Spicy Asparagus.  The chili sauce gives it that sweet spice that I just adore. Throw in some soy sauce, garlic, and fresh ginger for a POW that will send your taste buds reeling! Small Town Girl Blog.

23 thoughts on “Sweet and Spicy Asparagus

  1. I love asparagus. I don’t even mind that my children don’t like it, then there is more for me. Thank you for sharing your recipe, I’m going to give it a try. #Allthingswithpurpose

  2. I shared this delicious recipe on my page and it was a big hit! Thank you very much for joining in the celebration of #purebloglove, we enjoy having you each week. I hope to see you on Thursday at 8PM, EST through Sunday night. ~Cydnee

  3. I hate, with a passion, asparagus. I know, hate is a strong word, but LOL Now hubby, he loves it *blech* I will totally use this the next time I have to whip him up some! Thank you for being part of the (mis)Adventures Monday Blog Hop!

  4. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #57 | The Novice Gardener

  5. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #57 | The Novice Gardener

  6. Hi, saw this on FF, so had to stop by. I have never thought of these flavors with asparagus, but I love sweet chili sauce, and it sounds so delish in this recipe! I felt like I really discovered something the first time I tasted it! Can’t wait to try the recipe and explore your blog more.

    By the way, my cat is nuts about artichokes. She’ll meow when I bring in a grocery bag that has the canned artichokes, before I’ve even taken the can out of the bag. She just knows it’s in there. Weird, I know. Asparagus, though, not so much! 🙂

  7. I love asparagus and I’m always looking for new flavours to add to it. I like your seasoning a lot for this dish. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!! Laura@Baking in Pyjamas

Leave a Reply

