Egg Salad 2.0

Revamp your traditional egg salad by adding tomatoes and bacon! Yum! Hello! You know you want this.  Small Town Girl BlogRevamp your traditional egg salad by adding tomatoes and bacon! Yum! Hello! You know you want this. I’ve been a fool for egg salad and eggs in general since birth. I have yet to find an egg I didn’t like….. let me be more specific, I have yet to find a non fertilized chicken egg I didn’t like. There, I feel better about that statement now.

This particular recipe has a pretty wonderfully ridiculous and slightly traumatic story behind it that I would like to share with you now:

Once upon a time, circa summer of 2005, I found myself in Canterbury, U.K. visiting my friend Jennifer at the University of Kent. It was a world-wind adventure. I got to stay in the dorms at the University of Kent, where Jennifer was studying, and revel in what it means for something to be old. When living in the states, you think 200 years is old. Then you go to the U.K. and find headstones 1000 years old everywhere!! I can’t explain the feeling and magnitude of realizing there is a whole wide world out there you’ve never experienced, until you do….. I need to get out and travel more, note to self!

A lot of first experiences for me: first 12 hour flight, first time flying alone, first passport, first time without a car! That last one was the worst. I felt totally naked without my car. Fortunately legs go a long way on an island. I was able to get to everything I needed via foot. What first felt like a handicap became a liberator.

Until I had to return home…. You see, Jennifer came and  met me practically at the airport when I got there so I was safe with a pro who understood public transport. The morning I left, I was on my own since she had to work. Step 1 was to take the bus from the University to the bus depot. I swear I checked that damn schedule twice a day just to be positive I’d be there on time. I forgot to check if it ran on Sunday. So there I am, out at sunrise, with my huge suitcase, backpack, phoneless, and contemplating running even though I knew I’d never make it. Lo and behold, another gentleman was there and he had a cab pulling up. I instantly put on my best “damsel in distress” posture and got a ride. I insisted I pay for the cab but he wouldn’t have it. He was heading back to Nigeria and told me, “Next time you in Nigeria, you buy me a drrrrink!” In a very heavy accent.

So I caught my bus and then it was a short walk to the London Underground. Unfortunately, the summer of 2005 was when the Underground was bombed, so they closed on Sunday for repairs. Sweat beading down my brow, they gave me a free voucher for the train and directions which I frantically scribbled down while silently praying I can find my way in time. I get there with general ease and make my way to the turnstile when the partitions snap shut in between me and my luggage! Standing there helpless like a trapped fish wiggling in a net, the grumpy man behind me walks up, lifts my heavy luggage and practically throws it at me! After recovering, I flash him a HUGE grin, scream “THANK YOU!” and run away.

After a relaxing 30 minutes on the train I get to Heathrow and on my plane where I find myself next to a wannabe Brangelina couple with their recently adopted African toddler! No, I’m not kidding! Apparently this was the child’s 2nd flight (the first being from Africa to Heathrow). So naturally the poor thing is terrified and screaming her head off. I think, “OK, she’ll tire herself out before we take off….” wrong wrong wrong! 40 minutes later she is still bleating at well over 100 decibels.

And by the way, why haven’t we taken off after 40 minutes?? Oh yeah! That’s right! There is a medical emergency in the cockpit! No Joke, the ambulance came up to the plane and hauled someone away from the cockpit. I guess that’s a bullet dodged. All I could think was perhaps the pilot had a heart attack…huh…weird.

So here we are, and hour and a half sitting on a plane on the runway waiting for a replacement pilot (or whoever) fretting that I’m missing my connecting flight in the states and little Brangelina still screaming her head off! This is hell realized. Mercifully the flight attendant who, by now, has comprehended that this child won’t quit and it’s grating on the rest of the coach passengers, finds a place at the back of the plane for the slightly frayed couple and their bundle of joy. I decide that for my pains, I deserved a little space and promptly pilfered their seats so I could spread out and sleep. Win!

My connecting flight was rerouted and instead of getting home at 8pm it was more like 2am that my poor mother had to come and retrieve me from Seatac airport. THE END!

“Hold on, what the hell does this story have to do with an egg salad??” You ask? Well, between the London Underground/train fiasco, I realized I hadn’t eaten that morning due to nerves and was STARVING! I didn’t have time to do anything but stop at a corner store and pray they had something palatable. After a quick scan of my options, I grabbed the egg salad sandwich. My thought was, I know what’s in it, and yay protein! What surprised me was the addition of bacon and tomato. It was soooooo good! After so many food fails in the U.K. I was pleasantly surprised to find a crappy corner store sandwich to be a culinary delight!

 Ingredients

  • 2 hard boiled eggs, chopped
  • 2 rashers of crispy cooked bacon, chopped
  • 4 cherry tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 2 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • Bread of your choice

Time: 5 minutes

Servings: 1

Instructions:

Mix all ingredients together.

Revamp your traditional egg salad by adding tomatoes and bacon! Yum! Hello! You know you want this.

Serve on toasted bread, flat bread, or with pita chips!

Revamp your traditional egg salad by adding tomatoes and bacon! Yum! Hello! You know you want this.  Small Town Girl Blog.

15 thoughts on “Egg Salad 2.0

  1. I made this for lunch yesterday and it was fabulous! I may never eat egg salad any other way again! Thanks so much for the recipe.

  2. I love egg salad, your version sounds wonderful! Thanks for sharing at What’d You Do This Weekend? I hope you will join us again this Monday morning 🙂

  3. Haa haa Great story! I was wondering about the sandwich part too! Isn’t it funny how the simplest things can lead to the greatest discoveries! Thanks for sharing on the (mis)Adventures Mondays Blog Hop. I can’t wait to see what you share next next time!

  4. Egg and tomato sandwiches are a favourite of mine, I love your addition of bacon, delicious! Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!! Laura@Baking in Pyjamas

Leave a Reply

