Sprouts!!!

If you’re just now joining this little adventure and would like to read the first post, click hereIMG_5951

It is the coolest feeling in the world when you know that you’ve assisted in the creation of something. Much like primitive man generating fire or women birthing children, there is a sense of personal triumph that resonates through your soul. If you ask any gardener, they feel the same way about growing plants from seed. There is an absolute thrill at the emergence of first sprouts. That sense of pride one feels from taking an inert object and turning it in to a living breathing organism. It makes me want to tell everyone, “Yeah! Damn right I made that s#@t work!”

If you’ve never tried growing anything from seed, you should. I would recommend trying herbs in your kitchen window sill. It’s super easy. Seriously, just follow the seed packet instructions and they’ll do the rest of the work for you. This trick is to know how to harvest them. But hey, we’ve got plenty of time surf the interweb before we need to worry about that!

The onions and tomatoes, well, that’s a little more complicated. You remember how I said I wasn’t going to try? Yeah, well that attitude lasted about a day lol. Next thing I knew, I was bringing home my clamp lights and timers from the bowels of my science classroom cupboards.

IMG_5958

The following day, I decided the lights weren’t close enough to warm the soil, so I employed my dear friend Harry Potter to assist with the issue.

IMG_5959

I’ve been using a spray bottle about once a day to keep the top layer moist as well as watering about every other day. I figured out why seedling mixes create surface tension: it helps slow the flow of the water as to not disturb the seeds…. OOOOOOH! I get it now!

IMG_5954

So now we have our cute little bitty sprouts. I’m thinking more are on the way shortly. I can’t wait for the next steps!

IMG_5969

Have you been planting indoors? What do you have growing?

22 thoughts on “Sprouts!!!

  1. what wonderful photos! love seeing those seedlings push up and through. We are getting ready to start our seeds. We use flourescent shop lights, and prop them up with old books and chairs, starting out low and raising as the seedlings grow. It surely does brighten our dark winter days, having live growing things thriving by the window.
    visiting via Old-Fashioned Friday

  2. Beautiful photos of your sprouts! I need to learn how to grow things inside (I have moved to a cool climate after living where I could plant outside all year round!) – do you have yours set up on a table or window sill..? I just don’t know where I would put my sprouts inside!

  3. Thank you so much for attending week 20 of #PureBlogLove and linking your fantastic blog post, I can’t wait to see what you have in store for our next party, Thursday 8 PM EST- Sundays at midnight. Your post has been added to the #PureBlogLove Pinterest board for all to see 🙂 Have a great day!
    Nicole

  4. Awesome! It is true even a gardener feels great when the first spourts show up. It is a victory. I really like your post and how you describe the emotional part of gardening. Thanks for making me smile.
    I am stopping by from the Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop. Tweeted!
    /Charlotte – My Green Nook

  5. You are our most clicked share at last weeks (mis)Adventures Monday Blog Hop. Congrats!!!! Can’t wait to see what you bring this week!

  6. They look great! We’re buried under snow here so I’ve only started things i can keep in pots for awhile. Basil, lavender and chamomile last week. A few months ago I put some broccoli seeds in a pot to test viability, but continued to let them grow so they’re about 5″ tall and in the house! lol They’re hoping for warm weather soon. Good luck with yours!

    Thanks for linking up with Green Thumb Thursday. I hope to see you again this week! (we’d love to see your progress as they grow!)

    ~Lisa
    http://www.FeathersInTheWoods.com

  7. Pingback: Only the Strong Survive | The Ramblings of an Aspiring Small Town Girl

  8. Pingback: My How You’ve Grown! | The Ramblings of an Aspiring Small Town Girl

Leave a Reply

