Honey Garlic Chicken

Sweet and tangy Asian fried chicken with a garlic, honey, soy, sesame sauce. This goes great with noodles or rice. This recipe started with Mountain Man ordering it randomly from our local Chinese takeout place. It instantly became our new favorite and often we would fight for the last piece! I was already determined to figure out the secret to the Chinese chicken nugget mystery, and now I had a sauce to go with it! Hooray! You  knew something was coming after my previous post 😉

Honey Garlic Chicken. Sweet and tangy Asian fried chicken with a garlic, honey, soy, sesame sauce. This goes great with noodles or rice. Small Town Girl Blog

Seriously, I don’t know how I spent most of my life oblivious to Chinese take out! Yes, Mountain Man turned me on to this wonderful junk at the ripe old age of 34! I think it has to do with how I was raised and the very picky pallet I had as a child. My mother would always try to introduce me to more exotic cuisine, which was generally influence by her Hawaiian heritage. Curry, Kim Che, raw fish… poi! Ugh, gross!  Unfortunately, all I was interested in was steak and potatoes, so I closed myself off to a TON of good food. I was very stubborn about this and I’m sure caused my mother many a grey hair because of my poor attitude (sorry, Mom!) As I grew up, I became more adventurous with time but once I met Mountain Man, he really pushed the envelope. You know how it is, you really like someone so you’ll reluctantly try all kinds of things you’ve never done before. Reluctant probably isn’t the right word for pouting like a little kid because you were hungry and wanted your comfort food is it? I can be such a spoiled brat! I remember the first time he took me to sushi, kicking and screaming (well practically). For the next year, I think I asked to go to sushi for dinner once a week. I had become such a fiend for it! He went through a similar trend earlier in our relationship when he introduced me to Chinese take out.

Honey Garlic Chicken. Sweet and tangy Asian fried chicken with a garlic, honey, soy, sesame sauce. This goes great with noodles or rice. Small Town Girl Blog

The downer about Chinese takeout is it’s hard to find one place that does everything the way you like it. I have one place that does great noodles, another that has awesome spring rolls, and still another that has the best sweet and sour chicken!! Never all at the same place so if you order from one, you know you will be disappointed with some aspect of the meal. Who wants that? From there, it was only a matter of time before I sorted out how to make all my favorites at home, including this one.

Ingredients:

  • 2 small chicken breasts
  • 4 garlic cloves diced and divided
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp shredded ginger
  • Red pepper flakes, a dash
  • Cornstarch as needed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp garlic powder
  • 3 cups vegetable oil
  • Sesame seeds

Time: 30 minutes

Servings: 2

Instructions:

In a sauce pan add 1/2 the garlic, honey, soy, ginger, and red pepper flakes.

Bring to a simmer, stirring occasionally for 5 minutes.

Turn heat down low while preparing chicken.

Preheat the oven to 300.

To prepare the chicken: click here

Perfect little Asian style nuggets. Great for sweet and sour, honey garlic, general tso, and other take out favorites! Small Town Girl Blog

In an oven dish, arrange chicken in a single layer. Brush generously with honey garlic sauce. Sprinkle the rest of the garlic and sesame seeds over chicken and place in oven.

Cook for 10 minutes. Turn chicken and brush with sauce again. Cook for another 10 minutes.

Add a little cornstarch to the remaining sauce to thicken if you want to use it as a sauce for rice.

Honey Garlic Chicken. Sweet and tangy Asian fried chicken with a garlic, honey, soy, sesame sauce. This goes great with noodles or rice. Small Town Girl Blog

11 thoughts on “Honey Garlic Chicken

  1. Looks and sounds delicious. I know what you mean about different items at different restaurants. When I was younger, one of my cousins and I would make runs to 2 or 3 different Chinese restaurants for just that reason for take-out. We’d order egg rolls and lo mein from one place and a favorite chicken dish from another, etc. Then again, since they were right in a row on the same street, we were also known to drive thru Burger King for burgers and pepsi then go next door to McDonald’s for the fries lol. [#CraftyAndDelicious]

  2. Lady, this sounds so easy and delicious! I like the idea of making it at home to if I want to healthy it up, less oil, etc. I expected the breaking to be wheat but it’s cornstarch this gluten free friendly too.

    Definitely trying this! Thank you for sharing and your MM, lucky guy no doubt!!!!

  3. it was until I met my partner that I didn’t start to eat more adventurous things and even Chinese food, now I eat practically anything. This chicken dish has got my mouth watering and it’s only the morning. This has been featured as one of my favourites over at Sweet and Savoury Sunday. Stop by, grab a button and link up again with us this week. Have a great day!

  4. Pingback: Sweet and Savoury Sundays #98 | Baking in Pyjamas

Leave a Reply

