Enchilritochanga

Yeah, I’m making up words now, lol. Enchil-rito-changa! Part enchilada, part burrito, part chimichanga, all delicious! It started off as a baked chimichanga but then I added beans to the filling… and enchilada sauce as a topping. And since each has its own name:

Enchilada = sauce over the tortilla

Burrito  = beans and meat in a tortilla

Chimichanga = deep fried (or baked in this case) burrito

I just decided to throw them together. I know there’s more to it than just the simple definitions above but really, that’s the gist isn’t it? Sorry traditionalist, I’m tromping all over your world with my big American melting pot combat boots.

IMG_5505

But seriously, this is so frikin good. I love making  big batches so we have dinner and a few lunches for the week! Mountain man loves the sauce and he’s not even a sauce guy! When I go to a Mexican restaurant, I want it all and I want it now! This gives me that fix. I get my chicken, beans, sauce, crispy tortilla, cheese, pico de gallo, sour cream, and guacamole all in one very satisfying dish. Bam!

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup cream cheese
  • 1 cup shredded Mexican cheese
  • 1/2 taco seasoning packet
  • Burrito size flour tortillas (about 6)
  • 1 can of beans – whichever you prefer – refried, black, etc. Make sure you drain the beans if they are the kind that come in water!
  • 1 large can green enchilada sauce
  • 1/4 cup fat free sour cream
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Toppings:

Guacamole, avocado, pico de gallo, and/or your favorite salsa.

Prep Time: 30 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Servings: 6

Instructions:

Boil and shred chicken.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Mix shredded chicken, cream cheese, Mexican cheese, and taco seasoning packet. I could just eat this stuff straight up. It is soooo good.

IMG_5456

Assemble your tortilla with a layer of beans and a layer of chicken.

IMG_5485

Wrap and lay, seam down, in a greased 9×13 pan.

Brush with olive oil.

IMG_5500

Bake for 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a sauce pan, whisk the sour cream and enchilada sauce together. Heat to a low simmer.

After the 15 minutes is up, remove the pan from the oven and flip each enchilritochanga.

Bake for an additional 15 minutes.

Pour enchilada sauce over each enchilritochanga.

Serve with pico de gallo, salsa, avocado, and/or guacamole.

IMG_5530

21 thoughts on “Enchilritochanga

  1. This looks delicious! I have to confess I keep calling “Enchihuh?” and “Enchiwhatevershecalledit”, but I am definitely planning to *eat* it. lol Thanks so much for linking up to Awesome Life Friday – I hope you’ll come back again. We’ll be featuring this post this week.

  2. Oh my! I was already in the mood for Mexican! I know this is good because it has cream cheese in it too! Pinned to my Good Eats board. Thanks for sharing with us at Merry Monday! Please be sure to come back !

  3. This looks fun and right up my alley – I love Mexican fod! Thank you for sharing this at #FoodieFriDIY – I have included this recipe as one of my features this week! Have a great weekend!

  4. Pingback: Saturday Night Fever Recipe Link Party #70 - Belle of the Kitchen

  5. Whatever you call it, it looks delicious! Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!! Laura@Baking in Pyjamas

Leave a Reply

