Pan Seared Broccoli

I don’t like broccoli… or at least I didn’t until I had it this way! Now I’m really excited about having broccoli with dinner! I’ve always wanted to like it since it’s green and good for you but I could never get into the bitterness of it. For Bestie’s b-day we went to a new local pub that opened a block from her home in West Seattle. One of our friends ordered this (which I never would) but when it came, it reeked of garlic and looked just tantalizing…. so I tried one, then another, then another! Swoon! I made a point of taking a picture of the description in the menu with full intent on figuring this out at home. It didn’t take long, in fact, it’s stupid easy to make!

Pan Seared Broccoli. Small Town Girl Blog.

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of broccoli
  • Lemon Juice
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Olive oil
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt

Sorry, no measurements this time. Be brave, you can do it!

Instructions

Chop broccoli into little bite-size florets

Pan Seared Broccoli. Small Town Girl Blog.

Coarsely chop garlic

In a large sauce pan, add olive oil so it just barely coats the bottom of the pan (about 3 tbsp).

Turn on heat to medium/medium highish.

Once the oil is hot, at broccoli, garlic, a pinch of red pepper flakes, a sprinkling of garlic powder, and a dash of salt.

Drizzle lemon juice over everything – I usually do a few circular passes around the pan.

Pan Seared Broccoli. Small Town Girl Blog.

Now here’s the important part – cover and don’t touch for 2 minutes!! You want to partially blacken the broccoli.

Toss, cover, and don’t touch for another 2 minutes.

One more toss and cover if it looks like it needs it.

Voila! Pan seared broccoli! A perfect side dish for any occasion!

Pan Seared Broccoli. Small Town Girl Blog.

21 thoughts on “Pan Seared Broccoli

  1. Yum! Just found you on Merry Monday, and was wondering how I could use up the leftover broccoli that I have in my fridge. You’ve inspired me – thanks!

  2. What a great tip! I’m currently on a PCOS diet, to help expand my family, and this looks like an awesome recipe! As welll, I love the name of your blog and your townie pic looks so similar to the small town I live in, and if you don’t mind me asking, where are you from? 🙂 Onto business…my name is Misty, from The LadyPrefers2Save at http://theladypreferstosave.com, and I’m one of the new co-hosts for the Merry Monday Linky Party! I wanted to write and let you know that your recipe will be featured as one of my featured projects this week on the Merry Monday Party, on my blog, as well as will be linked to the Merry Monday Pinterest board, as well. Thanks for linking up at the Merry Monday’s Linky Party this week. Have an awesome week!

  3. Pingback: The Lady Prefers 2 Save | Welcome to the Merry Monday Link Party #35

  4. Pingback: Tickle My Tastebuds Tuesday #34 – Welcome to 2015! – Lori's Culinary Creations

  5. I’m not a fan of broccoli on it’s own but with flavours like this I love it. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!! Laura@Baking in Pyjamas

  6. Pingback: Pinterest Tested #15 - My Pinterventures

Leave a Reply

