My Top 10 Christmas Albums

This is not your typical Christmas music. There will be no Mariah Carey or Michael Buble mentioned here! (Well, that’s mostly true) Don’t get me wrong, they’re talented but it’s not my style. What is my style? Well that is a complicated question. I suppose the best way to explain it is extremely eclectic and typically off the poppy musical path. If you really need to pigeon-hole me, I guess anything with a guitar and a good beat would be a good summation. Among friends, I’m well know for having a love for music that is completely random, obsessive, and borderline nuts. With that being said, I am very particular about my Christmas Music and have spent several years building up, what I think, is the ultimate collection. I listen to it during my weekly commute practically every day from Thanksgiving through New Years. Here you will find a conglomerate of both orthodox and very non orthodox jams that are all worth a listen and, in my opinion, should be downloaded immediately! These can all be found on itunes and amazon. I’ve riddled the post with links so you can check the music out for yourself. I hope you enjoy!

Number 1’s: Christmas

This is a great foundation album with all the classics! Burl Ives – Holly Jolly Christmas, Bing Crosby – White Christmas,  Bobby Helms – Jingle Bell Rock, Nat King Cole – Christmas Song…. you get the idea. Trust me, you need this album!

A Very Special Christmas: Vol 1 

A Very Special Christmas is a benefit where proceeds go to the Special Olympics athletes with intellectual disabilities. So by buying these wonderful albums you are contributing to new and improved programs for the Special Olympics world-wide. The first Volume came out in 1987. If you are a lover of the 80’s, this album is for you! Eurythmics, Bruce Springsteen, John Mellencamp, Run DMC, U2, Bon Jovi, it is an iconic album. My personal favorite is Rum DMC – Christmas in Hollis.

Bad Religion – Christmas Songs

Bad Religion is a punk band that has been rocking since 1979! Now hold on a sec…. just bear with me for a minute. I know what you must be thinking. “A punk band doing Christmas music? This will be horrible! Why would anyone want that!?!?” Well, back in the day I fancied myself a little rebel punk rocker. I still listen to Bad Religion, Nofx, and Dead Kennedy’s to name a few. When I discovered Bad Religion put out a Christmas Album, I was over the moon! (have you noticed the irony in their name vs. the album title yet?) Suffice to say, Bad Religion is well known for their harmonizing vocals over heavy guitar. These vocals sound fantastic in this arena! And the rock is a rockin! To add to the irony, the album boasts classic church hymnals such as Hark! The Herald Angels Sing, O Come All Ye Faithful, and Angels We Have Heard On High. I know how nuts this sounds but seriously, just check it out! I love listening to this album cover to cover, it makes me so happy!

Blake Shelton – Cheers, it’s Christmas

So this is about as poppy as I get. Besides, Blake is a sexy beast and I love his voice! His choices in great classics and new tunes will keep you smiling throughout the holidays. He also shares the spotlight with several bright shining stars like Reba McEnitre, Kelly Clarkson, and, of course, Michael Buble. I particularly love Oklahoma Christmas.

Christmas Doo Wop and Pop 

If you want some good flavored pop 50’s and 60’s music, look no further! There are 4, count em 4 albums! All chalked full of golden oldies, singing everything Christmas. You’ll find the Marcels, Dion, Bobby Darin, The Beach Boys, and a ton of other groups that I’ve never heard of from that era… Sorry, I wasn’t born yet, don’t hate! Rock ‘n’ Rolly Polly Santa Claus by Lillian Briggs will have you jumping out of your seat!

Mercy Me – the Christmas Sessions

If you’re looking for great harmonics laid over the good clean sound of a guitar band, look no further. Christian rock has produced some outstanding bands that boast some of the very best Christmas music I have ever heard! Mercy Me is by far my favorite! I absolutely adore their versions of Silent Night and It Came Upon a Midnight Clear.

Casting Crowns – Peace on Earth

This is my other favorite Christian Rock Christmas album! I really love the male/female duets. They warm my heart like hot cocoa. Where Mercy Me is more electric, Casting Crowns has that lovely acoustic down home feeling. You will want to run home and find someone you can force to sing along with you immediately. Take a listen to their rendition of Joy to the World and O Come all Ye Faithful

Barenaked Ladies – Barenaked For the Holidays

Oh those silly Canadians from the 90’s. You probably remember them best for their song One Week. If you’re a fan of the late 90’s, you need this album. If you’re not sure, please don’t let the name put you off, they have outstanding voices and do some absolutely beautiful music! Your Christmas Collection will never be complete without their jazzy version of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen with Sarah McLachlan. What also makes me excited is their rendition of Jingle Bells, its starts off all nice and sweet and then turns into the most immature, 10-year-old, batman laid and egg goofiness! I was rolling the first time I heard it.

Carly Pearce – Mistletoe, Holly, and Bluegrass

Come one country fans! You know you need a little banjo in the mix! This album is about as small town as they come! You will adore the honky-tonk feel of this album. Vocals by Carly Pearce, a local of the Nashville circuit, with a voice that the angels would envy. Check out Oh Come all Ye Faithful, great jam!

Hawaiian Style Christmas, Vol. 2Hawaiian Style Christmas Volume 2

Saving the best for last! The list wouldn’t be complete without a little island flavor now would it? Obviously there are 2 of the albums but I really like the second one better. So much great music! I wish someone would make a hula dance to learn to Ka’au Crater Boys Winter Wonderland! I would perform it all over the place every season!! Seriously!! Oh  yay! There’s a video of them singing it live!! You watched it right? Wasn’t that wonderful?? Ok ok moving on. My other absolute fav is the Local Boyz rocking a Christmas Medley Hawaiian Style called Christmas Wrapping (different from The Waitresses version). Some of my favorites quotes: A local addressing Santa:  “Hey brah what you git in yo bag? I like see!” “Frosty is Irie, cuz he’s chillin in Jawaii, with his nasty dreads and his jack fruit head and a Spam can in his hand.” “Rusty bells, garbage smells, it’s Christmas time in da housing, no mo benefits, no mo food, and my fada is drunk, and he always give me dirty likins.” If this makes no sense to you, well that’s ok. It’s pidgin, I barely understand it myself since I was born in WA. But my local friends and family will appreciate it, of that I am sure.

Welp, that’s all folks. Hope you enjoyed! I would love to hear what some of your favorite albums are! Please comment! I’m always looking for new music to add 🙂

Merry Christmas!!

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Christmas Albums

  1. Great list. Although I grew up in a music family, the carpenter’s Christmas was pretty much stuck on repeat during Christmas. It was odd since it wasn’t my families style (My mother’s favorite bands include deep purple and judas priest) and I don’t think I ever want to hear that album again. Maybe I will give them the Bad Religion album for Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

