Thanksgiving Part 2

There is a method to our madness…sometimes. Mountain Man and I both have our own delusions of grandeur. His tend to be on 4 wheels or floating, while mine tend to be in the kitchen or garden. Today was my day to dream big. There comes a time in a food lovers life when you have to ask yourself: “Can I do it all in one day?” The answer is yes but you will never want to actually host this shit show. I can’t imagine doing it all and hosting! My sister just did this and I gotta say: “Hats off sis! this was tough.”

But we had a plan and we saw it through! Thanksgiving dinner for 2 looked more like Thanksgiving for 20! Why?? 2 reasons really: 1 we both love leftovers and if you go to someone else’s house you don’t get leftovers! Gah! I want to eat turkey until I hate it!! 2: Well, I bought a really big turkey which turned into a food blogging opportunity for next November. Why not just get a ton of recipes all done in one fell swoop?

So here’s how the day played out:

6:30 – The alarm goes off… for the next half hour. Mountain Man is a snoozer. At around 7 it dawns on me that I am now awake, which is fine since I face-planted at 8 last night. So I pull my butt out of bed, make coffee and breakfast while enjoying reruns of Don’t Trust the B in Apt 23. Meanwhile, MM grabs the brine bucket from the garage the contains our 22lb turkey. He continuously grumbles about how it’s too big while I continuously remind him it was the smallest one Costco had…. Costco sized, even true for turkeys lol.

7:30 – Me,  “So Honey, what you up to today?”

MM, “Smoking a Turkey, you?”

Me, “Oh you know, making mashed potatoes, stuffing, gravy, pumpkin pie, doing laundry, dishes, cleaning the house.”

Sound a little lopsided right? It’s all good, I’m sure he’ll find other ways to busy himself that will benefit us, he usually does. After making this statement, I started the dishes, curled back down on the couch with a fresh cup of coffee and spent the next 2 hours playing on the computer and watching more reruns. I got time for lounging, so I’m gonna!

A little about Thanksgiving and smoking a turkey: when you smoke a turkey, gravy and stuffing need to be done more or less without the bird. All drippings become smokey and taste terrible. Creativity and research is key! Oh but a smoke turkey is divine and so worth the extra work! IMG_4613

9:30 – alright alright I’m going I’m going!

Step 1: Roast turkey leg to get a tiny bit of drippings for gravy. MM and I aren’t big dark meat eaters so we don’t mind loosing a leg.

IMG_4621

After it roasts, I poke holes in it to release all the juices.

Step 2: Make turkey stock

IMG_4628

This will take a few hours of simmering….

Step 3: Make bread cubes – I will do a full post on this accidental idea, it’s brilliant!

IMG_4660

Step 4: Get pumpkin pie cooking – I have a luscious little tip for this on too!

IMG_4644

12:30 – break time! I DVR’d Frozen since I keep getting looks of horror form my students when I tell them I haven’t seen it. Now I see what all the fuss is about. I would recommend this show to everyone old and young. Hell, MM watched it with me on his own accord and was completely engrossed! (Shhhh, don’t tell him I told you 😉

2:00 – Back to work!

OK so the pie is done

IMG_4670

Next is to make red potato death and gravy.

Red Potato Death is a no brainer. I make it every other year for 30 people. As alwasy it came out oh so garlicy and wonderful.

IMG_4707

The gravy was a task, on which I will share in another post. Long story short, making gravy from scratch using only one leg, the neck, and giblets is a bitch. Seriously. Still, with a lot of patience, I finally made turkey gravy without resorting to using store bought stuff! Completely from scratch and it is pretty damn good if I do say so myself!

IMG_4728

The last piece to complete was the stuffing. I was racing agaist time for these guys! No, not because the turkey was ready, I was loosing light for pictures! I’m starting to learn that non natural light is the kiss of death for food bloggers. So hustling and bustling I am rushing rushing rushing to get those last little bits of light!

Ah perfecto!!

IMG_4764    IMG_4793

And they both came out great!!

4:15 – Finally! Sitting down and finishing this post. Mountain Man is dilligently toggling between carving the turkey and finishing our outdoor Christmas light. I am so happy with all I’ve accomplished today. Nothing I made was a fail. My mouth is watering looking at that turkey and all the spoils! Yay me! Yay us! Yay Thanksgiving!

IMG_4800

 

Do you do this if you don’t host Thanksgiving?

What is your favorite Thanksgiving dish?

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Part 2

  1. Great work! Mountainan is a lucky dude! 🙂 I don’t know what we would do if we didn’t host Thanksgiving, because we always do. And boy do I love leftovers.

Leave a Reply

