Party Time!

Yesterday was the best! Thank you all who came out to celebrate my 36th birthday shindig! You made me a very happy girl!

67322_10152338339255448_8684362646853228975_n

I’m still in disbelief about my age, I don’t feel 36. Sure I get creaks and tweaks in my joints, I tend to go to bed earlier, and wake up with the sun but that doesn’t bother me. I wish my metabolism was what it used to be, but as my father would say, “Want in one hand, shit in the other, see which fills up first.”

What kind of number is 36 anyway? Well 6×6=36 so I could say I’ve been 6 6 times… Or I’ve been 18 twice. It’s not a landmark birthday. It certainly falls into the “middle aged” category… but really it’s just an uninteresting number.

That’s about all the time and energy I’d like to focus on the number. Now lets move on to the fun stuff! I am so blessed to have such loving friends and family! This weekend was outstanding.

To be fair, the celebration started Thursday night with me throwing a tantrum. Honestly, I couldn’t tell you what I was whimpering or complaining about, probably work stress. The result was Mountain Man asking me if getting one of my presents early would make me feel better. Of course I said yes. He handed me a small but heavy box which I promptly set down to look over. A garbage disposal! I jumped up and down hooting. I know, ridiculous right? This is definitely “middle age” rearing it’s IMG_3790ugly head. Who gets excited over a garbage disposal?? It’s one thing that I’ve missed intensely since moving into this house. Even the smallest detritus slows down the drainage. Daily I find myself digging out the gunk with my fingers and ICK! So I began whining. When that didn’t lead to change, I decided to ask for it for my birthday. For a while MM threw me off track by telling my the installation required some complex electrical mumbo jumbo that involved breaking walls and setting up wiring…. so I gave up and stopped bugging him. Smart guy, it worked, I forgot about it and was overjoyed to discover it was all a ploy.

Friday Mrs. Awesome came over and cleaned my house for free while I was at work. She said it was my birthday present. She did a GREAT job and I’m hoping to hire her on before all of our future soirees. It is a fabulous feeling coming home to a spotless house after a long day at work. Typically when we have parties, I’m cleaning all day. It’s stressful, exhausting and doesn’t really put you in the partying mood. Don’t get me wrong, I still have a ball and yuck it up with the best of them, but oh to have the house clean without lifting a finger. Outstanding.

Saturday I jumped out of bed at 7 am thoroughly giddy to spend the evening with many of my favorites.  First, I needed to get myself a present. I am a firm believe in spending a small chunk o’ change on myself for my birthday. After all, if people can give me presents, why can’t I? Last year I bought fancy cowboy boots. I would have liked to buy another pair this year but “practicality” got in the way. I’ve been waiting for  the new Iphone for several months. Then I had to wait to get paid….(I only get paid once a month, I know, it’s BS.) Now I have to wait for the back order… ugh, waiting waiting waiting.

Still feeling bahjiggity I decided to do some Zumba. My sis got me this pack of DVD’s and I love it!! Super fun, I’m always winded and smiley after a session. I think I have found my new favorite workout choice.

Now for food prep: I like to buy a bunch of drinks for everyone and ask my guests to bring picking foods for our parties. This way no one (especially me) needs to stand on ceremony to be fed. Eat what you want, when you want. A few weeks ago, Caliente asked me (with great anticipation) what I was making for the party. My response was, “Uh, I don’t know, maybe some frozen quiches or something.” This prompted a very confused look complete with furrowed eyebrows staring at me. I then realized my blog has set a standard for my life! WTH? I suppose I’ll have to step up my game. Pinterest to the rescue! I selected some droolable appetizers and devised a plan. Caliente came over in the afternoon to help me with my devices. Our creations included:

Pumpkin Pie Dip from The Girl Who Ate Everything: recipe

IMG_3782

Roasted Garlic Artichoke Dip from Wonky Wonderful: recipe

and an Italian Ring Crescent Sandwich from Pillsbury: recipe

IMG_3775 IMG_3776 IMG_3777 IMG_3784

This was gone in less than 10 minutes!!

All three were a big hit!

Naturally we had to have a plate of MM smoked cheese and salmon. The cool part about this is that Bestie and Caliente bought me a slicer attachment for my KitchenAide Mixer! It took about 2 minutes to slice all that cheese! Epic gift!

IMG_3779 10351762_10152338339530448_246371897615738859_n

I was happy to find another reason to make zucchini bread as well. I still have tons of shredded zucchini in the freezer!

IMG_3780

The party was wonderful. We had a great turnout. Even though I did not ask for gifts, people still brought them which is always neat.

Hand made by my girls at Dawg and Duck Creations.

IMG_3801

Go Hawks!

IMG_3794

Mums the word!

IMG_3793

Silly Cards

IMG_3795

There was a lot of laughter, connecting, and reconnecting with great friends and family.

IMG_3788 IMG_3786 IMG_3785 IMG_3326 10698402_10152338339320448_2407055229343531054_n 10446715_10152338339220448_4875497941736310319_n

As the night went on, we congregated around the bonfire in the back.

IMG_3789 IMG_3325 IMG_3324

I love my parties. They are nothing but joy and laughter. I am so lucky and thankful for the people in my life.

The next morning my lone sleep overer, Sharon, and I went out to breakfast. Sharon has been my friend since 4th grade. We don’t see each other as often as we would like to but when we get together, it’s like we haven’t skipped a beat. It was nice to catch up and make plans for the future.

Now I sit, full and content, with dinner cooking in the crockpot and the Seahawks clobbering the Raiders on TV. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

