The Perfect Small Town Girl Weekend

It has been a damn great weekend! Everything about it made me smile! I got so much accomplished and feel like I didn’t waste a second of time.photo 1

Friday night our dear friends came up for a burger, beer, and bonfire. For anonymity’s sake we’ll call them Mr. and Mrs. Awesome since they are awesome and they introduced me to Mountain Man. Mr. and Mrs. Awesome are also two of our closest and oldest friends. I have known Mrs. Awesome since kindergarten! They originally lived in our small town which was great since we could hang out all the time. Unfortunately, last year, they moved to the burbs for financial reasons but their goal is to move back up in a year or so. In the meantime, we try to get them up here as often as we can not only to reconnect but also to remind them of what their missing… and it often works.

IMG_2988The evening was spent catching up and laughing over dinner at the Firehouse, our local bar. After getting our grub on we walked home and made a bonfire out back. The Awesomes refer to it as “Cowboy TV” We were enjoying ourselves so much no one realized how quickly time flew by. Before we knew it, it was midnight! Oops! MM and Mr. Awesome were both supposed to get up at dawn the next day, MM to hunt, Mr. Awesome to fish. I know MM didn’t quite make it out on time…. Oh well. It was worth it for some quality time with the Awesomes.
IMG_2121Saturday began with coffee as every day should. While that was brewing I threw the frisbee for the frisbee fool and collected vegetables for a frittata. After the frittata was in the oven it came time to carefully plan my day. You see, Mountain Man was gone with his buddy bow hunting for elk so I was left to my own devices. Since this is the only free weekend I have this month, it was going to have to be one that involved harvesting and preparing the garden for the winter. There is so much to do! Fortunately, I am a planner and love making lists. So much so, I started the list for today earlier this week, carefully considering timing and pondering the most efficient approach to getting all that needs to be done. I’m a little OCD sometimes. I digress….
Since the oven was already on, I decided the best thing to do was continue to use it. So I baked zucchini bread after the frittata was done cooking. This also gave me an hour to laze about, drinking more coffee and watching my TV smut that MM can’t stand.

IMG_2994

photo 3
After a shower and tidying up the kitchen, it was time to venture out into the world. First Stop? Simple Goodness Farm. I met one of these lovely sisters through a mutual friend. I was thrilled to meet another small town girl from the same small town…. Who also loved to blog about life out here! And wouldn’t you know it? She’s on WordPress! The farm specializes in garlic and today was their first sale! I was thrilled to purchase fancy varieties to grow in my garden. I got 3 varieties: Inchelium Red, Lorz Italian, and Killarney Red. I can’t wait to put them in the ground! I also snagged a braid of Inchelium Red to cook with for now and a few burlap bags. They were selling them for $1! That is so cheap! Craft stores rob us blind for the stuff. I have no idea how I’m going to use them, but I’m sure I’ll figure something out.

photo 2

 

 

 

 

 

Then on to the store for spring bulbs, soil, and provisions for the upcoming week. I already have daffodils but I wanted more! I really want that front corner of my home to just explode with these babies in the spring. Daffodils are a point of pride in my neck of the woods. The nearby valley is known for their daffodils. In the spring the Daffodil parade marches on several cities in Pierce County including Tacoma and Puyallup. I picked up a couple different varieties to fill in the spaces.
When I got home, it was time to focus on my big project for the day: canning tomatoes. I had a theory that if I brought the green ones into the house they would ripen faster since it would be warmer, especially in the evenings. For the most part it worked.

Sunday

IMG_2938

Wednesday

IMG_2950

Saturday

IMG_2997

Then I went outside and picked all the rest…I had more tomatoes than I knew what to do with!

I decided to split them up and make ½ into sauce and the other ½ into marinara. It ended up being a 4 hour operation! The kitchen was set up into stations:

Cutting and rinsing stationIMG_3005

Blanching station

IMG_3003
Peeling and chopping station

IMG_3006
I diligently got lost in moving from station to station systematically processing that massive pile of beefsteaks, better boys, and romas. Once I ran out of tomatoes, I started prepping for canning while the sauces simmered for an hour. The canning went quickly and Voila!

IMG_3013
My finished product! I was so tired and done, there was no way in hell I was going to turn around and cook dinner… so after all that, I ended up ordering a pizza lol.

Sunday morning I couldn’t wait to sneak out of bed to watch my new favorite show that recorded last night: Outlander. It’s a really cool show that takes place in the Scottish Highlands where a woman accidentally falls back in time to the 1700’s and Scotland is at war with England. If you love period pieces, you will adore this show! It’s on Starz which, I believe, is free through Comcast so it should be on demand. Seriously, check it out!!! I liked it so much I started reading the books, which are equally outstanding.

For breakfast I made pancakes and bacon. I made stawberry rhubarb syrup last month and hadn’t had an opportunity to try it out. Sufice to say it was tasty. A little thin but the flavor was lovely. No, we don’t drink beer with our breakfast, it’s from the night before and I didn’t notice it until later lol

.IMG_3016

Continuing with my plan for the weekend I began cleaning up the front flower beds for winter and spring.

IMG_3030

What a hot mess. That would be my mint weed overriding everything else! Great for mojitos, not for flower beds. This thing just gets out of control. It came with the house and will be staying with the house when we decide to leave. Cutting completely to the ground felt great. I hate clutter. Then I pulled out all the summer flowers and cleared out the bark. I replenished the soil with bone meal which is great for bulbs and found new pockets for the additional daffodils. IMG_3033My bearded Iris’s didn’t do so great, I only had one bloom this spring. I think the ones under the roof simply did not get enough sun or water. So I gently lifted them out of the ground, divided some (I hope I did this part right) and cut back the leaves. I replanted them on the other side of the walkway where sunlight and water are abundant. Hopefully this does the trick. I got my information here.

IMG_3034

It may look plain but there’s a whole lot going on underneath. I can’t wait to see what happens this spring!

IMG_3035 IMG_3036

Well I gotta go! It’s my brother-in-law’s birthday celebration at my parents house. We’re having chicken wings and char sui for pupus!(pupus is Hawaiian for hors d’oeuvres) For dinner, we’re bringing a fillet from this sucker that MM caught a couple weeks ago along with some fresh corn from the garden! big fish

Did I mention the Seahawks are playing??? GO HAWKS!!!

Hope everyone’s weekend was happy and productive. How are your gardens doing?

Leave a Reply

