Tzatziki Sauce

A fantastic Greek yogurt dip that I can never remember how to spell!!

Tzatziki is the Greek answer to ranch dressing. I have loved ranch dressing since I was a teen. But lately, it hasn’t been “doing it” for me like it used to. Seriously, I  put it on and in everything! Salads, fries, chips, veggies, pasta sauces, sandwiches, pretty much anything that isn’t sweet. So what’s a girl to do when her one true saucy love gets old? Find it’s foreign twin!

Try it! It’s easy to make and it’s bright tangy flavor never dissapoints. I love dipping pita chips, veggies, and sweet potato fries in it. I’ve also used it as a substitute for mayo in sandwiches, delish!!

Did I mention it has less calories??

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup shredded seedless cucumber (about 1 medium cucumber)
  • 2 cups plain nonfat greek yogurt
  • 2 tbsp dill
  • 2 garlic cloves diced
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Seed and shred cucumber. I use my handheld cheese shredder for perfect sized shreds.
  2. Press out as much liquid as you can out of the cucumber shreds. I like to used a wire colander and press down hard into shreds over the sink. You can also press out the liquid onto paper towels. This step is really important! Cucumber holds a ton of water and it will make a very watery sauce if you don’t really wring out the cucumber. IMG_2453
  3. In a blow mix cucumber shreds and all other ingredients.
  4. Chill for at least 2 hours.IMG_2472

One thought on “Tzatziki Sauce

  1. Pingback: How Does My Garden Grow: Cucumber | The Ramblings of an Aspiring Small Town Girl

Leave a Reply

