Chop Salad

IMG_1460 Two things that have been very successful in my veggie garden this year are cherry tomatoes and lettuce. Naturally this means lots of salads. On a hot day, nothing is better than a cool crisp salad for dinner. MM often looks at me funny when we do this because he doesn’t think it will fill him up. He complains that a salad is a side dish not a meal. I heartily disagree. A salad can be a very healthy, filling, and satisfying dinner! It’s all about what you put in it! Avocado, cheese, hard boiled eggs, nuts, cured meats all add great flavor and filler to the meal. Even after I explain it has tons of protein in it he sighs and rolls his eyes at me as I lay the mountain of lettuce and goodies in front of him. IMG_146910 minutes later I find him full and complimenting me on dinner…. the sad thing is, we’ve had this conversation at least 10 times this summer, lol. As long as the outcome is always the same, I guess a little selective amnesia is tolerable.

I had this salad first at Katie Down’s, a local waterfront restaurant in Tacoma. This place is known for it’s pizza, burgers, and fish n’ chips. Obviously I was looking for a lighter choice for lunch that day when I went with their chop salad. I wasn’t expecting to find my new favorite thing on their menu! Really, it was that good! It burst with flavor that zested the romaine perfectly and left me wanting more. I cleaned my plate! I went home determined to recreate it. It wasn’t very hard, the only thing I’ve found that’s a little above and beyond is making your own dressing rather than using a store bought one. But I’ll walk ya through that. It’s super easy.

Ingredients:

Dressing:Chop Salad recipe with homemade dressing. Easy, fresh, delicious! Great dinner choice for a hot day! Small Town Girl Blog

  • 4 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 clove of garlic minced
  • 1 small bunch of fresh basil minced or 1 tbsp dry italian herbs
  • 1 small bunch of fresh oregano minced or 1 tbsp dry italian herbs

Salad:

  • 1 head romaine lettuce – rinsed and chopped
  • 10 thin slices genoa salami chopped
  • 4-6 slices oven roasted deli turkey chopped
  • cherry tomatoes or 1 vine ripened tomato chopped
  • 1/2 red onion chopped
  • 1 large ball (about 2-3 oz) mozzarella fresca chopped

….. see why it’s called a chop salad?? LOL

 Instructions:

Make the dressing first! Mix all ingredients together and let sit for at least 30 minutes.

This will help infuse the garlic into the oil.Chop Salad recipe with homemade dressing. Easy, fresh, delicious! Great dinner choice for a hot day! Small Town Girl Blog

While you’re waiting, chop your salad ingredients.

Drizzle dressing to your liking and toss!Chop Salad recipe with homemade dressing. Easy, fresh, delicious! Great dinner choice for a hot day! Small Town Girl Blog

Leave a Reply

