Mt. Rainier Walkabout

I woke up this morning with nothing to do. The prospect of hanging around the house all day again made me want to scream. Sure I had things I should be doing but who’s interested in that? So I decided to go get an annual Mt.Rainier pass and go wander the Sunrise park side of the Mountain. All I can say is wow! I’m sure I’ve been here before but probably not since I was a little kid. I had no idea just how close I was going to get to the mountain!

At the entrance with Goat Island Mountain in the background.

IMG_1776

My first stop was sunrise Point. This is the view from the parking lot. My jaw was on the ground!

IMG_1701

On the other side is Sunrise Lake. I love the color of Mountain Lakes! Super Blue!!IMG_1711

Although I was ill equipped for any serious hiking, I still wanted to wander around….IMG_1758

This will work

IMG_1719

Doesn’t it almost beg you to wander up?

IMG_1727

So many flowers… and bugs. Fortunately hornet free! Those guys are viscous this time of year!

IMG_1745

Anise Swallowtail

IMG_1733

Phlox

IMG_1729

I have never seen hot pink indian paintbrush!!

IMG_1721

Can someone please tell me what this Dr. Seuss looking plant is?? It drives me nuts! I love it!!

IMG_1738

The farther up the trail I went, the better the view got!IMG_1742

The woods cleared up and I was tired. but I was so close to that perfect pic! So of course I pressed on. I’m so out of shape!!

IMG_1746

Yay! That is a great shot! Annnnd I’m done!

(not sure why it doesn’t look super clear right here but if you click on it, you’ll get the full effect)

mountain

After getting back to the car I felt it only right to go check out the Visitor center at the top. Lovin the log cabin look!

IMG_1759

This reminds me of the Salem Witch Trials for some reason lol

IMG_1763

Great day! Can’t wait to go back!

3 thoughts on “Mt. Rainier Walkabout

  1. The white Dr. Seuss looking flower is a Pasqueflower Seedhead, we were just up there a couple of weeks ago and I looked it up! We are heading up to Franklin Waterfall tomorrow!

  2. The wonderful thing about Sunrise is that I can drive my Mom up and she can feel like she walking in the mountains without leaving the parking lot. She is not getting around as good anymore so I can’t wait to take her up!

Leave a Reply

