Adventures in Canning: Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

Strawberry Rhubarb is a grand blend. That’s all I can say. Well, no it’s not, but it’s a good start!

It all began with my lovely neighbors going to New Zealand for the month of May. While they were gone they told me I could snag some rhubarb from their garden if I wanted so it wouldn’t go to waste. Well I wasn’t going to pass up that opportunity, no sir! I felt like such a stalker walking onto their property and robbing them of their harvest! I had often thought it would be fun to grown my own….

??????????

Until I saw the size of this plant!

??????????

Good lord! I don’t have room in my garden for one of these!!

??????????

Jurassic Park called, they want their plant back!

Of course, I started with a making a crisp. But I had twice as much as I needed. After researching online I found that vacuum sealing and freezing was a recommended way to preserve short term. We do this all the time with our fish so this was a cinch! Do be aware, it was mushy after it thawed which is fine for most recipes but it’s not going to be crunchy if that’s what you’re looking for.

IMG_1572

Here is the link for the recipe from Melissa K. Norris

First in the pot with pectin and lemon juice.

IMG_1574

Meanwhile keeping your jars warm. I learned to use my dishwasher on the sani-rinse cycle with just water for my jars and rings.

IMG_1576

Then put the lids in a lightly simmering pot of water

IMG_1584

Organization is key in the canning operation. I almost flipped a lid when MM came in and threw a pizza box down on my towels. He was promptly tossed out of the kitchen!

IMG_1585

It even looks pretty poured in the cans!

IMG_1586

So easy to make and so so good! MM and I cleaned of one jar in a day it was so good! I could practically eat it with a spoon!IMG_1590

10 thoughts on “Adventures in Canning: Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

  1. YUMMMY!!! This looks wonderful. I haven’t tried mixing strawberries with rhubard. I definitely need to try it. Thanks for sharing on Friday Favorites. Can’t wait to see what you have been up to this week! I also pinned your post. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

