Food Hacks: Dressed Up Tomato Soup

I’ve never really understood the whole milk in tomato soup thing. Totally confuses me. If that’s your bag, good for you. I like my tomato soup with a little kick. A garlicky herby kick to be precise. No this is not a blog post where I make my own tomato soup from scratch. It may happen one day but today its good ole Campbell’s.

Ingredients:

  • Campbell’s Tomato Soup
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Garlic Salt
  • Pepper
  • Fresh basil, oregano, and rosemary

 IMG_1551

I’ve got my herbs coming in from the garden right now but the other 9 months of the year, I just use an Italian seasoning blend.

If you like spicy tomato soup, I bet red pepper flakes would also be an awesome addition!

IMG_1559

Start the pot on medium heat and add the tomato soup and 1 can of water. Yes water! Just try it, it’s good! I swear!

IMG_1552

Add about 1/2 to a whole cap-full of red wine vinegar.

IMG_1556

Then add your garlic, chopped herbs, garlic salt, and pepper to taste. I don’t use measurements sorry. Just start small, stir and heat, then taste. Add more as needed.

IMG_1558

Once the hint of boiling bubbles appear, put the heat on medium low and let it just barely simmer for about 10 minutes. This helps the garlic and herbs soak in.

IMG_1561

My favorite is to serve it with an everything bagel and cream cheese.

IMG_1562

One thought on “Food Hacks: Dressed Up Tomato Soup

  1. Pingback: C is for…. | The Ramblings of an Aspiring Small Town Girl

Leave a Reply

