Adventures in Canning: Apple Butter

I am having so much fun canning!! I feel like lately I’m constantly looking for the next tasty thing I can put in a can these days. It’s kinda silly. One of my favorite sweet things ever is apple butter. So it seemed like the next natural choice. Here’s the link to the recipe I used.

First you need a bunch of apples and a way to slice/core/peel them. Fortunately, my mother had one from her canning days in the 70’s.

IMG_1475It’s funny. I was born in the late 70’s and I don’t feel old. But this apple corer/slicer/peeler sure does! Check out the instructions:

IMG_1476They’re so faded you can barely read them! I had to practically put the paper to my nose to read it lol. But it still worked well!

IMG_1477Then into the crockpot. The recipe said to cook it low overnight but I don’t have patience or time for that. So I put it on high.

IMG_1479

After 6 hours, it did the trick!

IMG_1487

First I mashed it with a potato masher. Then moved on to the immersion blender.

IMG_1489

Into cans, 10 minute water bath and Voila!!

IMG_1547

Can’t wait to have it on pancakes!!

Leave a Reply

