These are a few of my favorite things….(part 4)

The Guilty Pleasure Edition

Guilty Pleasure #1: The Snow Day:

photo 1

Thursday night before winter break all eyes were on the news as potential for a little snow was expected to drift in Friday morning. It did…. A whopping 2 inches, lol. In this area that is often enough to close down a few schools. Now I know what you’re thinking 2 inches is nothing right? It is for large school busses that have to venture up steep neighborhood hills. If it’s good for them, it’s good for me. Many teachers will complain because we have to make it up in the summer. But honestly, what’s one day extra? It meant the world to me as I was already dragging my feet going work every day since Thanksgiving. I was in dire need of some serious rest. When I finally did pull myself out of bed at 10, the snow had already turned to rain and was quickly disappearing. I had the smuggest shit-eating grin for the rest of the day. Winter break 1 day early, it doesn’t get better than that!

Guilty Pleasure #2: Overindulgence.

What would the holidays be if we weren’t over doing it…. cuz ‘Merica! Saturday Mountain Man and I threw a White Elephant Christmas Party.

Photo: Sherades

 So let’s start with the food. Mountain Man smoked cheese and salmon. He also made pickled eggs (which he used as his white elephant gift… and the promptly took it back when it was his turn to choose a gift)

DSCN0298

I made a couple of cheese ball recipes I found on Pinterest:

Bacon Ranch Cheese Ball

??????????

Pineapple Cheese Ball

20 Holiday Appetizer Ideas

Did I mention there were Christmas cookies too? Oh the food!

My greatest experiment was making mulled wine.

??????????

I mostly followed this recipe from the Food Network. A few differences were that I let it cook in a crockpot on high for most of the day and I added fresh cranberries. I was really nervous in the afternoon when the kitchen started reeking of that wine/vinegar smell, so I added a little sugar and prayed. It still smelled strong to me but when my first guest, Carmen, arrived and we tried it out, it was heaven! In fact, the whole crockpot was gone by the end of the night.

There was also a ton of beer and Apple Pie liquor consumed as well. I’ll be the first to admit, I love drinking.

??????????

But as we grow older, we gain responsibilities, so I don’t get to play as often as I used to. Who does? It’s fun to let your hair down and overindulge in libations from time to time. That is exactly what this party was all about.

It’s definitely not a guilty pleasure, but I love spending time with good friends and family too 🙂

?????????? ??????????

??????????

Oh yeah, here’s what I got out of the White Elephant Exchange…. Demonic Elephant salt and pepper shakers! These are so getting re-gifted in the future!

??????????

The overindulgences continued the next day when Caliente (my Dutch/Venezuelan firecracker fabulous friend) and I got up from our drunken stupor and when out for breakfast. We went to one of my Favorite establishments: The Kitchen. I already knew what I wanted: country benedict. Its two biscuits, two sausage patties and 2 scrambled eggs smothered with country gravy and cheddar cheese atop a mountain of hash browns (forgot to take a picture, darn it!) It’s insanely massive. I usually eat it for breakfast and lunch… and sometimes dinner too. Caliente got the eggs benedict which is also quite tasty. We love to swap breakfast foods, so I got one of her eggs benny for one of my country bennys.

As the lazy football Sunday continued, MM and I shamelessly devoured the leftovers from the party and the rest of my country benedict…. Then I made him pick up sushi for dinner! Oh the calories! Sometimes ya just gotta say fuck it!

But that’s not the end! Christmas day was a smorgasbord of foods. First breakfast at the parents; cinnamon rolls, egg casserole, and thick savory bacon. That food coma wears off just in time for arrival at MM parents’ home up on Crystal Mountain Ski Resort. As his mom, grandma, and I jibber-jabbered, plates just kept appearing on the table in front of me! Deli meats and cheeses, artichoke dip, veggies and dip, cookies, cheeseballs and crackers, this amazing cheese dip his mom makes that is great with potato chips…. I stuffed myself stupid! And then we ate dinner! MM’s mom makes the most wonderful ham gravy! It’s white, creamy, and I’ve never had anything quite like it. I’m used to a pineapple glaze on ham, until I met MM, I’ve never had gravy with ham. Boy was I missing out. I look forward to it every Christmas.

Guilty pleasure #3: Presents!

I love presents! Both giving and getting. I know you’re supposed to like the giving more, but c’mon people, honestly? The getting is pretty badass too! MM tends to spoil me rotten at Christmas and this year was no exception.

I got this nifty composting bin. I’ve always wanted one of these for the garden so I could make my own compost from scraps. It beats the crap out of having a compost pile that you have to turn and muck about in to get it to break down.

??????????

My big gift was a rifle. A Ruger 10/22 rifle specifically. I’ve never owned a gun before nor had I asked for one for Christmas. However I was thrilled to receive this unexpected gift.

photo 3

MM has many guns and I’ve always been impressed by his knowledge and responsibility with them. He’s taken me shooting a few times and it’s really fun! He said he’s moving me from aspiring small town girl to full fledge small town girl. Check out the tag on the box:

??????????

We took it out shooting up in the hills. It’s light, not very loud, and precise. I shot down a bunch of cans that were a decent distance off. I would yip with delight every time I made a target. This type of rifle is meant to be a learning rifle used mainly for target practice. I am so going to be ready for the Zombie Apocalypse!

IMG954210

Guilty Pleasure #4: Laziness.

Not just any laziness, obscene laziness. I feel like when the school year is going on, I move at 120 mph at all times. I never get to slow down for more than an hour or two. It wears on me. So when the big breaks come around, I make darn sure to be obscenely lazy. To be an obscenely lazy person you:

  • Don’t clean a thing in your house until 2 days after a party
  • Shower only every other day
  • Eat whatever you want
  • Binge watch TV shows
  • Play video games
  • Ignore phone calls
  • Don’t leave the house
  • Wear your sweats like it’s a uniform
  • Sleep for 10 -12 hours a night
  • And have full fledged conversations with your pets

Yes, that’s where I was the day after the White Elephant party and where I have been the last 3 days… only I have been cleaning a little bit and working out at least. I read in one of those silly personality tests that I am the type of person who needs time to charge my batteries in between stints of business. So that’s exactly what I’m doing, recharging my batteries for the long work months to come. I hope you are doing just the same.

Happy Holidays All! Hope yours has been as wonderful as mine.

The End

Leave a Reply

