These are a few of my favorite things….. (part 2)

Crafting: There is something about this time of year that gives me the crafting bug! Probably has a lot to do with the fact that I can’t grow anything, it’s cold and rainy most days, and it gets dark at 4:30 pm…. Yeah crafting will keep ya busy!

It started with our tree. What would Christmas be without a tree right? The Friday after Thanksgiving, Mountain Man took me high up into the hills to cut down my first wild Christmas tree. It was tough! I’m used to a line of stacked or planted tree farm trees that are the perfect size for any house, bushy, yet branchy…. You know the one! Wild trees are very different. They are tall… really really tall. Once you find one that looks close to exactly what you want, you realize it’s 18 feet! The ones that are around 7 feet look like giant Charlie Brown Trees. There is no way my heavy ornaments will hang on these lanky weak branches! I was beside myself. MM assured me they were stronger than they look. He was so thrilled to get a wild tree since that’s what he grew up getting on the Mountain. After wandering up the labyrinth of logging roads for several hours and me saying no to every single one, we found a huge pocket of right sized trees.

??????????

I walked up and down the row 5 times, frowning and critiquing every tree. On our way back to the truck with me begging MM to just cut one down, there it was! Waiting in all its glory! We must have passed it 10 times!

DSCN0185

Cutting it down and loading it into the truck was a breeze.

DSCN0187

So was getting it up in the house.

photo 8

Decorating it was not. I’m completely OCD about decorating the tree. I blame my mother. After years of being taught perfect placement of each individual ornament and twinkling light, a though became imbedded in my brain; THE TREE MUST BE IMMACULATE! I’m used to draping lights along each tightly packed layer and the cord easily blends in with the foliage, this was how I was taught! After 3 attempt at stringing the top of the tree and then unwinding it, I threw up my hands in a huff and slumped on the couch. MM laughed at me and asked what’s wrong.

“This tree is wrong! Well, not wrong but different in every way from what I’m used to!”

He hugged me and said “But honey, I’m different than what you’re used to. This is our tree. Different, but us.” Talk about the perfect thing to say! He is so wonderful!

So I took a break and went to bed. The next morning I was up early with only one thing on my mind; how the hell am I going to make this tree work!?!? I started really taking my time and winding each individual branch the way MM told me his mother does it (since this is their style of tree). It took hours and 8 strings!!! When it was done, I felt happy, satisfied. It wasn’t perfection but it was close.

Then to the decorating. I was surprised how strong the lanky branches were! I really enjoyed how each ornament could be showcased and easily seen. I was thrilled with the end product. So it was a lot of work, it was worth it!

photo 11

The next day I found myself with two very crafty girlfriends.photo 6

The evening was dubbed “Drunken Pinterest Night” and boy was it! I decided to make a wreath out of the clippings from our tree. No, I’ve never done this before, but I think I found a new Christmas tradition! It took most of the afternoon but it was really fun and easy.

photo 9 photo 10

The end product looked great!

photo 5

My crafty girls made wreathes out of Burlap,

photo 1

Quilted beer cozies

543928_10152394918047802_428572071_n

and snowmen decorated wine bottles.

1476284_10152391644177802_758479929_n

Did I mention we drank wine and noshed on coconut crusted shrimp, homemade queso with ground venison, and buffalo chicken pastry puffs?

1471258_10152390484212802_1510172549_n

We’ve decided to make this night a new tradition.

Last week was my Bestie’s birthday. She and I are always on the same wavelength when it comes to spending time together. I was excited to hear she just wanted me to come up, hang out in sweats, maybe craft, and drink beer. One thing that’s been bugging me is that we don’t have a tree skirt. I couldn’t seem to find one I liked so I decided to make my own. I looked online for ideas and really loved the patchwork quilt idea. Instead of round, I decided to do a square so the point faces front. Unfortunately (not really) the beer drinking and talking overrode the crafting very quickly. Just like with the tree, I got up early with a bee in my bonnet and before I knew it, I had cut all my squares.photo 3

After a divine breakfast at the iconic Easy Street Music Store and Café in West Seattle (near where she lives).

West_Seattle_Easy_Street_01

I had “Benny and the Jets” one of my favorite Elton John songs and my favorite breakfasts eggs benedict, in one? Yes please! When I got home I started piecing it together. I got pretty far.photo 4

Still the next few weeks are super busy. So it probably won’t be ready until next year. I haven’t wrapped a single present yet! Oh well, tis the season of busy!

Part 3 coming soon 🙂

One thought on “These are a few of my favorite things….. (part 2)

Leave a Reply

