These are a few of my favorite things…. (part 1)

It’s the holiday season. I’d be lying if I wasn’t a fool for this time of year. I love it. Every weekend is spent making yummy food, covering everything in lights, and spreading holiday cheer among my wonderful friends and family. I thought I’d take a moment to share/recommend my favorites for the season.

Hmm how to begin? Perhaps chronologically?

Thanksgiving: First the morning always begins with a cup of coffee and the Macy’s Day Parade.

I love the Broadway performances, The Rockettes,  and the balloons. Mountain Man feels differently, but he tolerates it.

You already know how I feel about the food but that’s only ½ the fun. Thanksgiving is one of my all-time favorite holidays because I get to see my Dad’s side of the whole family. We are a loud, proud, and loving bunch. With how busy everyone is, it’s challenging to get us all together. But once every other year for a few precious hours, I find my niche in the world. Growing up, the whole family often took camper trips all over Washington. Lakes and the coast  trips were always a staple. Those are some of my fondest memories of my childhood. There would be a line of campers rolling in as the campsite office folk would roll their eyes and grumble “Oh great, they’re back!” We were typically too loud and fun for them.

Now not to say my mother’s family isn’t awesome, they are. But they also all live in Hawaii, so it’s a more sporadic deal when we get together.

The day after Thanksgiving: AVOID ANYTHING TO DO WITH BLACK FRIDAY!! I’m sorry if that’s your thing but it’s my greatest nightmare. The End. What I do like about the day after, it’s time to let the Christmas fun EXPLODE all over your life:

Music: It’s now acceptable to listen to Christmas/holiday music whenever you want. Although I started a few weeks early this year…. I really needed the happy! I have extremely eclectic music taste and have found I enjoy a mixture of the classics, country, rock n’ roll, punk rock, Christian rock and a little Hawaiian.

The country singers really have the Christmas vocals perfected. I just love that they sing them strong and clean, no frills or gimmicks. Might I recommend: Toby Keith, Blake Shelton, George Straight, and even Rodney Carrington….That one just baffles me. How does a man who’s entire carreer is based on drinking, sex, and women’s anatomy make great Christmas music? This man is famous for writing such gems as “Titties and Beer”, “Morning Wood”, and “Momma’s Got Her Boobs Out”.Yet he sings my favorite version of O Holy Night! I often wonder if he’s trying to offset his sins in hopes of getting into heaven, but that’s just too involved when I start to consider it.

                

…… You be the judge lol.

As for the classics, you can’t go wrong with the Rat Pack.

Dean Martin does a great version of “Baby It’s Cold Outside”. 

                                                                                                What is up with those socks!?!?

You have to have some Burl Ives! For crying out loud he’s the snowman on the Rudolf movies!

       

As for the Islander music, there are some great compilations:

And the soothing sounds of the Cazimero Brothers is always a must….

If you need a little banjo in your holidays….

Just today I found even Bad Religion (punk band) has a Christmas album!

It is awesome! I’m so excited. Just found my new favorite album!

Out of all of the music I have, this one is definitely my favorite song these days:

Wow! I had a lot more to say than I thought! I think I’ll have to turn this into a 2 or 3 parter….. to be continued 🙂

Leave a Reply

