Amazing Alfredo Sauce

I’ve been in love with alfredo forever. Its rich creamy taste and texture sends me swooning. I don’t make it often because I’ll gorge myself on it but every once and a while, I have to do it. I worked on perfecting this recipe for over 10 years. This is the final product:

IMG_3910

Ingredients:

alfredo 3

Sauce:

  • 1 container shredded 3 cheese blend (asagio, romano, parm) or just parm if you can’t find that.
  • 16 oz container whipping cream (heavy if you want to go super rich)
  • 1/2 cup cream cheese
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp italian seasoning
  • garlic salt
  • pepper

Other Stuff:

Pasta: Traditionally, it’s fettuccine. I prefer linguine myself but really any pasta you can eat with a fork is good. I even have a lasagna recipe I use it with… coming soon!

Chicken: Boneless skinless chicken breast goes great with this dish. I chop it up into little bits and mix it into my bowl like a little kid, but serving it whole or in pretty slices works too. How I prepare it is fairly simple: Sprinkle with Italian herb seasonings, pepper, and garlic salt. Grill it on your BBQ or George Foreman grill. Chop it up! Done!

Mushrooms: Sauted mushrooms are also an outstanding topping for this dish. Simply slice your mushrooms, put them in a skillet with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, diced garlic, and Italian herb seasoning. Saute over medium heat. Drain or pat down with paper towels.

IMG_3886

Instructions

In a large sauce pan add garlic and melt butter.

Pour in whipping cream and bring to a simmer.

alfredo 1

Add 1/2 shredded cheese and all the cream cheese into liquid and whisk consistently until the cheese is fully integrated.

IMG_3883

You’ll know because your whisk won’t have any cheese hanging off it

alfrdo 5

Taste and add more cheese until it is to your liking (I usually use the whole container)

Turn heat down to low and let it sit for 10 mins to thicken up

 Add garlic salt and pepper to taste

If it needs tweaking try these: add more butter for flavor, add a little milk if it’s too thick, add more cheese or a tbsp of flour to thicken.

Voila!

IMG_3896

3 thoughts on “Amazing Alfredo Sauce

Leave a Reply

